SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
really excited, i will post pics as soon as i get them.
when i got her, there was a little hesitation in the lower range of RPMs and it seemed like it generally lacked power.
i spent saturday doing little things on it, such as changing the engine oil, checking the plugs, adjusting the valve clearances, points, refilling the clutch master cylinder and the carburetor dashpots. after all that, the car ran much nicer but...
i noticed that my slave cylinder is leaking and while the engine cylinders 1 and 2 spark plugs look nice and tan, 3 and 4 are black, and 4 looks a little oily.
what would you recommend as a next step? i was thinking checking the ignition timing and then getting the carbs tuned.
what is the base timing for this engine?

thanks!

·
Registered
550 Posts
I'm new to these things as well. But from what the plugs look like I'd say a good carb tuning would be high the to do list. That clutch slave cylinder I'd want to fix I had one go out in my pickup in St. Paul MN. I can tell you driving through town with out being able to release the clutch is no fun. Every light will be RED and you have to kill the motor and start it in gear when the light turns green.
The other thing I'm going to be doing on my 66 wagon is checking the brakes not just pads but the tubing and hoses. I've also had a rusted brake line blow. That car wasn't all that old but in Minnesota the road salt eats everything !
So my plan is making sure it will stop then make sure it will go.
By the way is this a 2 door, 4 door or wagon ?

·
Premium Member
19,952 Posts
really excited, i will post pics as soon as i get them.
when i got her, there was a little hesitation in the lower range of RPMs and it seemed like it generally lacked power.