SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,993 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. As some of you know, I was a tech at a popular indy here in MA for about 12yrs. In all honesty, It was a great job that afforded me the flexibility I needed while attending Berklee College of Music/ touring life-style. Well, I parted ways with said shop last September (on bad terms but will not disparage the shop publicly) and new that there was gonna be a time that I had to pay someone else to work on my car when it came to big jobs

Fast-forward to this week and my 04 VR's slave cylinder starting to squeal and leak brake fluid. I had to find someone to do it as I just won't do stuff like that on jack stands. I don't need the imprint of the 6MT on my forehead, or to possibly hurt my delicate and dainty musician hands :p . I started asking my dealer tech friends if they wanted the side-job and found that the best quotes for the labor (I get a wholesale discount from my parts guy) were around $1,200. One of my service writer friends offered to cut the dealer rate from $110/hr to $80/hr. for the book time of 15hrs. etc....
On a recommendation from another dealership tech buddy I contacted Dave Kaplan of RAVE Imports who is a dealership tech by day. I called him up, asked if I supplied the parts what would the labor be? $600!!!!!! then he offered to pick me or the car up and drop off when done. Got the car back and he did the clutch, PP, slave with new vent tube, resurfaced DM flywheel, inspected RM seal, bled system, replaced a link(that I provided) and the LF axle seal (I provided) all for the $600. Car drives great, and shows no signs of his being there in or out of the car. I don't think I can give a higher recommendation!
I asked him if it was alright with him if I broadcast his pricing publicly here to which he said "That would be great! I love the work!"