SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time upgrading my R and im trying to way my options in regards to a downpipe or an exhaust system. Now my question is, which upgrade will give the most bang for your buck in terms of performance and sound? Is the "exhaust system" or everything past the downpipe just a sound enhancer or does installing a new ipd or elevate exhaust actually create more usable power? I know a larger downpipe allows the turbo to spool faster and creates less back pressure so then does the exhaust system become the limiting factor in terms of back pressure and the ability for the turbo to spool. Furthermore, I am also thinking of tuning my car to run on 93 octane or in other words a custom tune. So would a tune and new downpipe be the best bang for your buck or tune and exhaust system?

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Who makes that? Also, does it include a down-pipe or is everything past the catalytic converter? I actually just looked at MN - TURBOR video and the sound is amazing! However, do you think a down-pipe or an exhaust system would be the first performance mod?

·
Registered
4,267 Posts
Who makes that? Also, does it include a down-pipe or is everything past the catalytic converter? I actually just looked at MN - TURBOR video and the sound is amazing! However, do you think a down-pipe or an exhaust system would be the first performance mod?
I've always been told downpipe first, exhaust second. If you tune it, you will also want to help the car breath on the other end too. I have had success with IPD's Air Management System (AMS). If you are going for sound, the AMS plus a hood liner removal yields an awesome diverter valve sound. I prefer that over an exhaust tone any day.

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·