SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
195 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
While doing so research I was surprised to see that Volve has discontinued its agreement with Holland based TomTom and Google will be Volvo's new supplier.
https://www.autonews.com/article/20181016/OEM06/181019688/tomtom-loses-volvo-contract

Has anyone noticed the vendor change, or the features, or the visual of the new Google GPS mapping yet? Anybody know how to check the software version to see which vendor has been installed in their 2019 or 2020 V60?

This sounds like an improvement. Personally, I have been using on of the top end models from Garmin for about 5 years with the lifetime update with great success. Until I get my own Volvo in May of 2020 I won't be able to compare the function and accuracy of the Volve built in vs the stand alone Garmin Nuvi 3490 that has always been amazing.
Glad to know any additional information anyone has or personal experience with both mapping software.
Cheers
Mike

·
Registered
45 Posts
Following this. I know the map in the Volvo On Call app that I use to remotely send destinations to the car's nav is powered by Google. I'd be curious to know more about the Sensus nav map change, as well.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

·
Registered
6,912 Posts
It is last year news. Without details we can't know what model year it will affect. Existing cars will probably getting map updates from whatever source it was using, or from Google while converted to existing format to work on existing cars.

When Android UI shows up in future models it will of course use Google maps.

Sent from my Z978 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
67 Posts
It is last year news. Without details we can't know what model year it will affect. Existing cars will probably getting map updates from whatever source it was using, or from Google while converted to existing format to work on existing cars.