SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1,637 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just now finding out that I need a clutch switch for my manual swap. I was always told it was only necessary if you wanted cruise control (which I don't care about at all) but Hilton informed me that it is needed. Now here's my dilemma...

I have an 850 master cylinder, but I also have an 850 clutch switch. The 850 switch doesn't seem to fit my newer style pedal bracket anywhere. From what I've seen, the 1999+ mastery cylinder has a small attachment on the bottom of the rod for the 1999+ style clutch switch. I'm sure as hell not pulling this master back out unless it goes out, so I'm thinking I'll be able to modify it somehow if I need to. But before I do that has anyone else done something like this to use the clutch switch?

·
Registered
1 Posts
im not sure if this would work or not, but cant you just wire up the switch like you have the clutch press? and then you have your switch but its some what bypassed. Im not a pro so don't quote me.

·
Registered
1,637 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I think the ECU sends a signal to close the ETM when the clutch is depressed, according to what I read in VIDA. Other documents say the switch is just there to deactivate cruise control. I have the switch hooked up now, and its fully extended, so I believe that's why VIDA tells me there's a "faulty signal". I just have it sitting off to the side, not connected to the pedal since I'm unable to mount it currently.

·
Registered
2,397 Posts
It's a PITA, but you shpuld be able to remove the plastic push rod from the master from inside the vehicle. I had to do it when I bought an S60R master & put it in my '98, didn't notice the rod length was different until after I had the MC bolted in place.