SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have decided I wanted to lower my 2001 Volvo S80 T6. I'm new to Volvo so if anyone has lowered their's I would love for you to tell me what's the best way to lower my car and what brand.

·
Registered
227 Posts
I have h&r springs and bilstein shocks.
The front is not that hard to with a set of spring compressors. If your not mechanically inclined (you need a floor jack, muscle, and experience) the rear is something you shouldn't do.
I would also recommend that when you replace the front struts you replace everything that go along with them. (xc90 spring seats, bearings) I helped my brother lower his car and he had 1 spring cup broken and he ordered 1 spring cup........... needless to say we had go back in their and replace the other cup 2 weeks later.......
YOU DO NOT WANT TO DO THE MORE THAN ONCE

·
Registered
127 Posts
Rear is easy to do if you have cargo straps. Took me a while to figure it out, but once I did took very little time. Here is an album of my process.

·
Registered
693 Posts
I'm with @slashmax, use the heaviest duty sprint seat you can; seems to be the xc90, you don't want to go back in there unnecessarily.

FWIW, I'm switching to KONI FSD's shocks ATM. Billsteins have been the most popular, to date, but you will have a rough ride regardless, once you are deviating from the stock suspension.

·
Registered
488 Posts
hr spring and fsd is a good combo

·
Registered
127 Posts