SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

So I'm new to Volvos. I've been a Saab guy for the past few years but it's time to find a wagon or SUV for the wife and she seems to like the XC90's. Coincidentally my parents just picked one up, an '08 3.2, drives pretty nice and is pretty comfortable. If we're going to get one of these what should I look out for? Any years to avoid? I've heard a lot of differing opinions on the different engines so I'm really just looking for some advice on what to look for. If it helps I'm on Long Island. There are definitely more to choose from compared to an AWD Saab which is almost nonexistent besides the 9-7x. We've looked at a few, also looked at some XC70's but haven't found our car yet. Any help is appreciated!

Thanks,

Rob

·
Registered
1,199 Posts
Just stay away from the t6 because of the tranny issues. And with all volvos make sure to budget a pcv repair if you're buying at 100k or more and it has one, and obviously timing belt if it has one, depending on engine. I think the most reliable is the 2.5 and cheapest to maintain, some say the 3.2, some say the v8... Depends on who you ask obviously. I was talking to the service manager at Smithtown Volvo today actually (I don't just hang out there I was buying a cam seal lol) and he said the 2.5 is the only one to get. They were writing up the bill for a v8 alternator.... Ouch.

Sent from my SHIELD Tablet using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,516 Posts