SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Currently I drive a 1999 Camry. I was going to buy a 1998 M3, but the guy flaked on me, so I ended up in a Camry :facepalm:

I work for a multi-brand dealership, and one of our brands is Volvo. A sales guy called me and told me they have a 2004 S60R in on trade, and has 91K miles. It is beat, and needs service. I would say it needs about 3-4K in maintenance and other things for it to be 100%.

I am looking to buy one that has less than 60K miles, and would get an extended warranty --not sure if anyone has used Fidelity, but I get a discount on their warranty. I would like to keep the car until 100K~ miles. I drive less than 10K miles a year (my commute is 5mins).

However, I am a college student, and pay for my own classes, but don't want to go broke just trying to maintain this car. Even though I'll get work done at a discounted rate, sometimes it adds up. I am staying away from a manual because of the slave cylinder issue, and I don't like driving manual much. I know parts are more expensive for the R, but I just want something I can have and not worry about for 5-6 years.

·
Registered
2,418 Posts
5-6 years? lol buy an evo

Don't buy a 2004, 2005+ has problems fixed from the first gen that you don't want to worry about, also the interior is nicer on the 2005+

I've had my car for one year (as of July 17th) - driven 20,000 miles (on the dot, actually, as of today) and I've done:
Brakes (not a big deal, but expensive even doing it myself 630$)
Tie rod end (and alignment of course)
Tires (cheap were still 900$)
Slave cylinder (requires removing the transmission)
Fuel pressure sensor
Alarm system siren module

Spark plugs are due soon---

So, I've spent about approximately $2,325 in parts including tires, and even though I do all my own work, besides alignment and tires it still cost still looking at $1,300 in 20,000 miles..