SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie to this board and I have a couple of questions. The lease on my 1998 Jetta runs in February and I am getting a jump on choosing a new vehicle. I am very interested in the V40. I love the looks, and I am not too worried about high performance, as the car will be used primarily as urban transportation and highway cruiser. Is there anything that I should look out for in selecting a used 2000 or 2001?<P>Also, how is the stock lighting? How readily available are e-code lights?<P>Thaks,<BR>SM<P>

·
Registered
14 Posts
I had a 99.5 Jetta and have a 2k1 GTI. I also have a 2k v40. IT SUCKS COMPARED TO VW. I hate this car and can't wait to get rid of it. The window seals wistle on windy days over 70mph, check engine light was looked at 3 times before being fixed, my brake warning light on the dash goes on and off, the usability and location of the power locks and ac controls are ridiculas, the brake dust builds up in one day, the paint is weak and the car feels like the Mitsubihi it was based on. In other words, get a Passat or used Audi.<P>

·
Registered
269 Posts
The 40 series in Europe I found are alot different than they are in North America.<BR>Handling and quality.<BR>We get a much softer all around car, it is a bloody shame but thats what the marketing people think we want.<BR>Just check out a Volvo site from one of the European countries and you will see the choices they have for this car. Maybe not all European countries. I have driven the 40 series in Finland, Estonia and Denmark, and like I said before...they have a far superior vehicle than what we get in North America.<BR>But all said I still think this is a great car for the money.

·
Registered
53 Posts