SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey,

I'm new to the Volvo Fam and I wanted to use my first post as an intro to myself and my newly purchased S60. I've made the switch from Bimmers to Volvos to tackle the Canadian winters. I will be using the vast knowledge of this forum to gain confidence in DIYs (mostly with the search button :rolleyes:)

Now to the ride. 2002 S60 AWD, Graphite Gray Metallic, just shy of 100XXX km's. It's completely stock but hopefully that won't last for long. First thing will be getting the ride ready for winter and then suspension in the spring!

It's nice to read up on the builds like NJGreenBud's and DevolvR's. They're thorough and informational. Hopefully I can use all your expertise to create an awesome Volvo for myself.

:pic: Disclaimer :pic: Pics taken on the first day of dry weather so I couldn't clean her, it started to rain during the "photo shoot"

·
Registered
4,640 Posts
Welcome to the forums!

Looks like a nice car to start with, low mileage and in stock form, nice interior. I'm a bit partial to the '02 vintage myself, mine is still going strong at just about 200,000 miles.

At that mileage you will want to make sure of your service history, flush the ATF with Mobil 3309 or Toyota Type 4, change the angle gear oil, even though it's early in mileage you might want to do the timing belt if it's dry and cracked looking.

Great choice though, you'll love the AWD in the winter.

Feel free to ask questions, PM, I'm glad to be of help.

Good luck and enjoy the car.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
@Tstats Thanks! I like how the graphite gets really dark at night and lighter during the day :D

@NJGB Going to be changing the ATF this weekend :) I did extensive research before I purchased her last weekend. That's partly why the car was a steal, the PO didn't know what to do with the tranny.