SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
I am a newbie and checked the FAQ for this topic and couldn't find anything to help me. I am in the market for an S60R and would like to know what key (major) maintenance items you would check/question if you were buying a car. I am guessing the timing belt would be an item to ask about. The angle gear also seems like it could be a maintenance issue. How do you check it to see if you there is an issue with it and is there specified maintenance that should be completed for it?
Any help or tips would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Jim

·
Registered
1,407 Posts
AG can be evaluated to some degree by putting it on a lift and looking below area where AG meets the transaxle. The coupling turns to powder and a heavy trail/stain running down from that area where the two meet is always on cars I see with failed AG collars.
Heavily oily and dripping AG is usually not a good sign either.

·
Registered
21,166 Posts
If you're looking for a MT, definitely look for a replaced slave cylinder in the maintenance history.

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
I would add leaky struts to the list as well.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the info. The thread was a great start. I also appreciate the AG info.
I have been looking at a 2007 with 116,000 miles. The owner said he had a code that indicated a suspension issue, but his mechanic thinks it is a nuance code. Does this raise any red flags?
Thanks,
Jim

·
Registered
785 Posts
Thanks for the info. The thread was a great start. I also appreciate the AG info.
I have been looking at a 2007 with 116,000 miles. The owner said he had a code that indicated a suspension issue, but his mechanic thinks it is a nuance code. Does this raise any red flags?
Thanks,
Jim