SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
926 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Some regular guy's favorite detailing products for your Volvo

I'm not a professional detailer. I'm just some regular guy. I detail my cars as a hobby. I have no affiliation with any products or services in this regard.

There are literally hundreds of products out there, and it can be pretty overwhelming to decide on products. If you don't guess right, it can be a very expensive trial and error process too. So I thought it might be helpful to start a thread where I tell you what I have found over time to work well for me and why. Others can then chime in with their personal favorites that I may not have had experience with.

A lot of products are very subjective, and each person's priorities and situation vary greatly. Generally the products listed below are a cut above those commonly available, and are usually used by professional detailers. I source these products from on-line retailers, including Auto Geek, Autopia, and Amazon. (Some of the commonly available products, though, can have a very favorable price point, are easy to use and readily available, including Mequiars, Mothers, Lucas, Eagle1, etc.).

In all cases, read the instructions, and test on surfaces first. Take responsibility for your own car and your own actions.

To give you context of my persoective, these are some of my preferences and priorities:
  • I have minimal time for washing vehicles, so I prefer things that are long-lasting, quick and easy to use.
  • I prefer as fool-proof products as possible.
  • I like to do a major detail about once a year.
  • How much I wash is mainly dependent mainly on how often it rains here.
  • I like products that allow me to easily renew the finish, beading, and slickness in between major details as needed.
  • I like to wash the car, dry it, and usually finish with a quick-detailer type product wipe-down due to tendency for water spots here.