SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys new to the site im looking for a site and some advice to get more power out of my 90' 240 DL 2.3
I love my "Dad" car and had one in highschool also. but i am having a hard time finding a clutch upgrade or any type of performance part for it. If anyone has advice on parts or tweeks let me know please. Also i Live in california so would have to be smoged... yay. Im new to working on Volvos so any advice is welcome

Are these Upgrades worth doing?
K&N 33-2538
Walker Exhaust 17816

·
Premium Member
19,953 Posts
Hey guys new to the site im looking for a site and some advice to get more power out of my 90' 240 DL 2.3
I love my "Dad" car and had one in highschool also. but i am having a hard time finding a clutch upgrade or any type of performance part for it. If anyone has advice on parts or tweeks let me know please. Also i Live in california so would have to be smoged... yay. Im new to working on Volvos so any advice is welcome

Are these Upgrades worth doing?
K&N 33-2538
Walker Exhaust 17816
Welcome to Swedespeed, Thomas.

Is this 240 your daily-driver? Do you have reliable alternate transportation? What is your current budget for 240 dedicated improvements? When you visualize the car it its final stance what do you see? Do you plan to keep this car long-term? Will it be raced/rallyed? Is the car currently in good/excellent overall condition?

K&N filter and Walker exhaust - fun but a waste of money UNLESS other mods are done in conjunction.

Let's say you have $2,500 to blow on the car over a year's time, can do your own wrenching and have another ride while the car is on the jacks...

Engine - street cam, adjustable timing gear, larger throttle body, modded air mass meter, free-flow intake and exhaust.
Clutch/trans - stock is ok.