SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 101 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
17,364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Finally starting up a thread for my mom's '04 V70! It's been an extremely boring ownership experience for her.......until now.

Here it is a few days after we bought it home in March, 2014. It had done 252k miles at this point.







Hmmmmmmmm......how do I have no interior pics of this thing? It's like mint inside. I need to fix that. Oh yes, we peeled that used car lot sticker off so fast.

Here it is hitting 260k on the trip to go pick up my T-5R.



[HR][/HR][HR][/HR]

Now, FINALLY for something interesting:



Yep, ABS light. I haven't even pulled the codes yet so I have no idea what is wrong. We know we can deal with P80s, so, after 2½ years of owning one, we shall finally find out if we can deal with a P2! Should be fun....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14,372 Posts
Was that a one owner car when your family got it? It's always amazing to me how clean cars with some miles can be if cared for properly.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,622 Posts
Change the battery. Wal-Mart sells the biggest battery that will fit for 120. Also time to get VIDA and join the dark side Jared! Once you go ME7 you never go back.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17,364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
I believe there were two prior owners. They clearly took fantastic care of it, at least cosmetically. It has these awful Milestar tires on it and the brake discs were probably worn down like 1/8" when we looked at it. We got the dealer to fix the brakes but the unsafe tires are still there......I've successfully leveraged the ABS problems to convince my mom that these tires are totally unsafe so hopefully they will be gone before this car ends up like Will's S70. I've gotten her to stop driving in the wet for the most part so that much is good.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17,364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Change the battery. Wal-Mart sells the biggest battery that will fit for 120. Also time to get VIDA and join the dark side Jared! Once you go ME7 you never go back.
This can be battery related :confused: how?

Yeah I know I need ME7......if I thought I could ME7 swap my 850R without dual VVT driving it up the wall, I might just ME7 swap it. That said, I do enjoy that my M4.3 cars never play mind games with me the way the ME7s do.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,622 Posts
These cars do weird things when the battery voltage isn't perfect... Go to Advance and test it... However, buy the Walmart H8 battery if its bad. Still need VIDA to look at the BCM codes... IIRC the BCMs in the non DSTC cars aren't VIN locked... Still start with the battery. Also if you have access to VIDA its time to look at the throttle pot delta to see how the ETA (no ETM, it's not in the CAN, it's treated like a generic sensor) is at 250k.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63,543 Posts
No, it's Denso for all non turbo P2s
Do check the battery but I doubt that's the problem unless it's completely fried.
Actual ABS module, axle or wheel sensor. One of these is the likely culprit
ABS module is not rebuildable so look for a used one (Erie, etc) if that is the problem.
Naturally VIDA should point you in the right direction
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
260 Posts
These cars do weird things when the battery voltage isn't perfect... Go to Advance and test it... However, buy the Walmart H8 battery if its bad. Still need VIDA to look at the BCM codes... IIRC the BCMs in the non DSTC cars aren't VIN locked... Still start with the battery. Also if you have access to VIDA its time to look at the throttle pot delta to see how the ETA (no ETM, it's not in the CAN, it's treated like a generic sensor) is at 250k.
No doubt they do. My positive terminal had loosened itself once and it caused my starter to not engage and my ignition antenna to stop reading properly. Almost had a little online basket full of parts before I was digging around the battery for something unrelated and noticed it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,453 Posts
No, it's Denso for all non turbo P2s
Do check the battery but I doubt that's the problem unless it's completely fried.
Actual ABS module, axle or wheel sensor. One of these is the likely culprit
ABS module is not rebuildable so look for a used one (Erie, etc) if that is the problem.
Naturally VIDA should point you in the right direction
xemodex and ASI both offer rebuild services.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,029 Posts
You can't go farther on this without VIDA.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17,364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Finally got out to take a look at it this afternoon after work and disconnected the battery. That did not resolve the issue. Ok guys how do I get set up with VIDA?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,402 Posts
Need a DiCE, a laptop is preferred. A DiCE can be purchased on Ali Baba or eBay, you'll want one with a Teleca board. Sellers will sell the DiCE with a copy of VIDA, if your system doesn't meet the requirements of the current VIDA you can download a later version VIA torrents, or (I think it's nsjames) has a VMimage with a working VIDA program that you can run in virilization with VirtualBox.

Myself, I have an old Toshiba Laptop running Windows XP with VIDA2010, works perfectly.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17,364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #16 ·
Cool, I have plenty of options for XP laptops at home.

Time to head over to ebay.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,402 Posts
Cool.

VIDA requires XP Professional, if you have home that's not an issue. You can edit the registry to have the Home version recognized as Professional (can potentially cause issue, but I have not noticed any). VIDA 2010 has low system requirements, my laptop is operating with less than 2gb of RAM, it can be a bit slow at times, but I've had no issue operating VIDA. You will need to download VIDA 2010 through a torrent. Installing VIDA can get a bit complicated sometimes, but if you run into issue there is enough information on the forums to assist you through it.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17,364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
Cool.

VIDA requires XP Professional, if you have home that's not an issue. You can edit the registry to have the Home version recognized as Professional (can potentially cause issue, but I have not noticed any). VIDA 2010 has low system requirements, my laptop is operating with less than 2gb of RAM, it can be a bit slow at times, but I've had no issue operating VIDA. You will need to download VIDA 2010 through a torrent. Installing VIDA can get a bit complicated sometimes, but if you run into issue there is enough information on the forums to assist you through it.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
We have one machine daily driving XP Pro and 3 that are capable of running it so I think we should be ok there.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,029 Posts
Cool, I have plenty of options for XP laptops at home.

Time to head over to ebay.
Can't remember the seller's name, but a guy out of Lithuania sells a reputable clone and offers support. Not the cheapest option but worked for me and I got the DICE in less than two weeks. They all come from overseas.

You can also see if a forum member near you has DICE to use in the meanwhile. My ABS message is intermittent but VIDA says it's the left front sensor.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17,364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
Finally got around to installing VIDA last night but now the computer isn't recognizing the DiCE. Recommendations?
 
1 - 20 of 101 Posts
Top