SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Banned
170 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

Since I bought my R I've noticed a "jiggling" vibration noise coming from what seems to be the front-right of the vehicle under harsh bumps - of which there are a LOT on the crappy roads of Pittsburgh...

I finally got around to checking it out, and have discovered that the front-right sway bar endlink is loose at the upper end where it mounts to the strut. Now, I'm not getting a "clicking" sound as I've read here on the forum, but more of a low-to-mid frequency vibration noise. I've heard noises like this before from end-links when I was a technician, but also know it can be made from a worn engine/trans mount.

Now, my R has an IPD sway bar in the front (not sure on the rear - didn't get back there yet.) So my question is can I use OEM sway bar endlinks on the IPD sway bar? I've read here that the IPD end links are, uh, crap... I can get Moog end links from Advanced Auto at a discount ('cause I work there part-time) - will these fit the IPD sway bar?

I have no need for high-end performance parts for the daily-driver grocery-getter daycare runner car, plus as I've begun noticing a puddle of OIL beneath the car, I suspect I'm due to reseal an angle gear kinda soonish... Appointment scheduled for next week...

Thanks for the help.

Jeff

·
Registered
491 Posts

·
Registered
796 Posts
Yes, any sway bar end link will work with IPD sways. Only thing different is the thickness of the IPD sway bar vs. OEM, it all still mounts the same.

·
Registered
1,341 Posts
Yes, any sway bar end link will work with IPD sways. Only thing different is the thickness of the IPD sway bar vs. OEM, it all still mounts the same.
+1 and I have even heard oem end links on upgraded swaybars have a longer lifespan than aftermarket.

·
Registered
491 Posts
$22 bucks is cheap.