SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am somewhat new to the 70R family having purchased a 2006 last year. I could not spend much time with her over the winter but have started trying to bring her back to some semblance of righteousness. My son and I have replaced the spoiler (wing) and fixed the hood (bonnet). I have also spent some time attempting to clean the leather and leatherette. I would now like to attack the fabric on the posts to either side of the windscreen. The fabric has come loose and I would like to remove the panels to re-attach the fabric. I would appreciate a bit of advise on removing the panels so that I don't inadvertently break something.

Thanks much

Kent

2006 V70R; 1966 1800S; (3) 1955 Thunderbirds (in various states of renovation; 1965 TR4; a partnership in a 1958 Peerless GT:

·
Registered
109 Posts
Pull off the door seal in the area of the A-pillar, it just comes straight down. Then, work your fingers around the edges of the pillar cover and pull it away toward the inside of the car. It won't come completely free due to a retaining clip toward the top, but you can cut it free with scissors or wire cutter. You would be better off re-covering the pillar with new headliner material, as the foam underneath is probably toast by now.

·
Registered
2,199 Posts
Cut the retaining clip? Um, just twist it where it attaches to the A pillar and it will come off. I believe this clip keeps the cover in place in the event of a side-curtain airbag deployment. You can reglue the fabric back on, recover it with different fabric, or replace it entirely with a new cover. Other models used a cover that didn't have fabric and was molded plastic. Me, I recovered mine in dark-colored vinyl that matched the interior colors.