SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello i am new to this forum i have browsed on here for a while. i have undertook a project about 2 years ago my dad owned my current car and my wife fell in love with it the first generation of v70 she would not trade or sell this car for a Lamborghini. i was a mechanic 3 years ago for the better part of a decade so i am mechanically capable. but did not realize the amount of work i was facing. okay so up to this point here it goes..
1 replaced bad turbocharger with a salvage yard one was not producing boost tons of shaft play...
2 tune up plugs wires cap rotor
3 replaced all rubber hoses and degenerating fittings
4 replaced entire pcv system after blew rear cam seals
5 replaced all struts ball joints control arms sway bar links and bushings
6 drive axles in the front and axle seals
7 currently replacing alternator low voltage..serp belt tensioner and idler all were trash
8 the drivers door does not open latch is broken.....lol my wife refuses to drive the newer car till its fixed and climbs out the window dukes of hazzard style

somehow this car has grown on me as well from a mechanical standpoint this car was ahead of its time and it seems to be well built i still have a way to go and currently share my wives vision of keeping this car for a very long time. i have plans for performance mods in future but cant seem to reach stage zero due to the complete lack of maintenance. however currently this car still runs strong and my car with 90k thats 15 years newer has a bad trans go figure....lol
so for starters has anyone else had a door not open at all is is not the lock it is the actual latch how do you remove latch without damaging door pannel or door...
and my next maintenance item is the timing set after door of course.
in the near future i would like to go 19t and get close to a 300 hp mark is tuning yourself the only option for those power levels.