SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in the process of upgrading my 2002 N/A V70's sound system. I am very new to Volvos and have never installed speakers or a head unit before. I installed the new front and rear speakers, which wasn't too difficult. Unfortunately, I received poor information from somebody and was told that the aftermarket HU that I bought would plug right in, which (after removing the factory HU) I now realize is not the case. The head unit that I'm installing is a Pioneer DXT-X4869BT. Here is a photo of the back of it:

My factory head unit was an HU-613. Could somebody please point me in the right direction here? I'm assuming that I'll need a wiring harness adapter but I'm having trouble finding the right one. Could somebody please show me the right one to purchase? If there's anything else that I'll need to know or do, I'd greatly appreciate any and all input. This forum helped immensely with installing my speakers, so I have faith that Swedespeed's members will come to the rescue once again lol.

Thanks,
Joe.

·
Registered
1,453 Posts
do you want to keep your steering wheel controls?

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-32vF4X4frTV/p_249SWRVL54/CRUX-SWRVL-54-Wiring-Interface.html

comes with the harness.

otherwise
http://www.amazon.com/Stereo-Harness-Country-wiring-installation/dp/B006C22RAG
will all be color coded to the radio harness. So aside from maybe the illumination wire or SWC wire, you just match colors.

I like these BMW crimp connectors.
http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/showparts?id=BD53-USA---E46-BMW-330Ci&diagId=61_2107
They are no bigger than the wire if you use regular heatshrink.

Crimps are better than solder for 99% of people, because people don't solder wires well in general.
make sure you buy a nice crimper tool. I use a duetsch terminal crimper with vertical jaw movement and a ratchet.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·