SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
868 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm not a novice to this venture, as I had to replace the entire PCV system on my 98 S70 T5 a year ago, but now, with my 06 s60R, and their poor material choice of tubing, I had to go in and perform the job again. This time I opted to only replace the hose, as I was getting good air flow through the PCV system. I was pleasantly surprised as to how easy it ended up being.

First, order the replacement PCV hose from the crankcase to flame trap box (I don't have the volvo part number off hand, but the image is below and it's item A). It's a pretty good price. Also get two hose clamps. I'd get it all at the dealer. The price was actually cheaper than buying online.

Remove the plastic intake tube from the turbo to intercooler.
Remove spark plug cover
Remove Intake filter box
Remove the clamps from the hose you are going to replace.
- I used a flat head screw driver
- You can access the clamp at the flame trap between the runners of the intake manifold
Remove the hose
Remove the rubber sleeves from the crankcase and the flame trap, that the breather tube fits over
- The new hose design does not require these
Put your new clamps on the hose
Route the hose and slide flame trap side on
Tighten clamps
- You can get a screw driver to the flame trap side of the hose by reaching under the intake manifold from where you removed the air filter box.
Put everything back together!

I was amazed. I had to tear the intake manifold off on my T5 to do this job.
Honestly, if you have oil on the top plastics, this hose is bad.
Most likely, if you haven't replaced it, you should. It's easy. cheap, keeps your motor clean and keeps the moisture and dirt out of your oil.

·
Registered
1,209 Posts
What does the PCV system do? What are symptoms of a bad one?

·
Registered
448 Posts