SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
395 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Note to Mods: If there is a more appropriate section for this post please feel free to move it.

For some reason, unknown to me at this point, certain options come with or without painted skirts and lips. For those of us who did not receive the painted lips and side skirts from the factory, but want our cars to be rid of the cheap plastic looking appearance, here is a solution I found to be cheaper than local body shops. This is a very easy mod to do that drastically improves the overall look of the vehicle. The time investment is a bit high but the results are worth the investment. I complete this with every vehicle I purchase as it makes it look so much better.

Disclaimer: I am not a professional painter and these steps are not the law of painting and there may be a better method, but this is the one I have developed over several years and I get flawless results that look better than factory everytime. I've seen friends pay "Body Shops" a lot more for work that looks awful.

Supplies:
An electric sander
sander pads at 120, 320 grit
Wet dry sand paper in 800, 2000 and 2500 grit
Plastic adhesion promoter spray from local auto store
Spray can primer from local auto store
Custom made to color code aresol paint from an automotive paint supply store
1k clear coat in aresol form from an automotive paint supply store
Rubbing compound from auto store
Rubbing Alcohol
A nice stack of clean terry cloth towels.

Step 1.
Remove The Desired Panel to be Painted.
If it is front or rear lip, screws and pin clips, easy.
Side skirts:
A. Open doors and remove the rubber strip that clips to the top of the side skirt by pulling up on it.