SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
963 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
There's a million ways to detail your car. You can get really into the details, products, and techniques. I'm not a professional detailer, but I honestly enjoy cleaning my car. This is just the way that I do it.. For more information you can go to sites like autogeek and read the thousands of threads discussing every detail of detailing.

Before you start: This is an all day affair. I'm sure you can break it up into several days but I like to bang it out all at once. This means you're going to need enough beer for an entire afternoon.

1) Gathering and preparing your materials.

Again, there are a million different types of products and tools. You could get away using less stuff I'm sure, but I like to try new products when it's on sale.

You need to properly wash you microfiber towels if they're new. Do this using free and clear detergent and set your washer to medium heat. You can let your towels air dry or fluff in the dryer. You should wash your polishing pads/ towels after you wash your car each time. I use a pad cleaning product that came with my polisher but an APC (all purpose cleaner) spritz and hot water will do the trick.

This is the stuff I use:
- dish soap (DISH SOAP? ON A CAR!? Yes! I'll explain later)
-2 buckets
-wash mit and various brushes
-hose/nozzle
-sonax wheel cleaner
-mothers trim cleaner
-various microfiber towels (get the good ones if you can afford it. See stocktowelsnow.com)
-Porter-Cable DA polisher w/ various 5.5 inch pads
-Wolfgang swirl remover 3.0
-Chemical Guys EZ crème glaze
-Chemical guys Jetseal
-Chemical guys liquid carnauba crème wax
-chemical guys VRP super shine dressing
-detailing spray (any brand will work)
-Simoniz detailing clay
-invisible glass window cleaner
-rain-x
-masking tape
-10% Isopropyl alcohol dilution in a spray bottle
-Chemical guys all purpose cleaner
-vacuum