SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
483 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just finished pics to come tomorrow but used Sonus Detailing Clay on my car.. wow.. what a difference!! Me Likey.

·
Registered
11,628 Posts
Re: (SHOlover)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>SHOlover</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">Clay bar = finish as smooth as a baby's butt.</TD></TR></TABLE><p>Or, as smooth as a babies butt with baby oil.

·
Registered
1,528 Posts
Does liquid clay bar work the same? I thought it is suggested that you do a wax after a claybar to recover the layer of clearcoat..

·
Registered
415 Posts
Liquid clay bar sounds like snake oil to me. But I have no first-hand experience with that. I've only seen it on shelves...and walked right by it. <p>The clay BAR itself is a physical SOLID, and works very well based on that property. You need to buy detailing spray...but many kits come with the spray anyway. The solid bar is tried and true. I love it! The only 2 caveats:<p>1. It takes time! (but worth it)<br>2. You CANNOT drop the clay bar on the ground. If you do, you toss it (just like what you should be doing with drying towels already)<p>You can never really "recover" clearcoat (without repainting). You can just lift up particulate that is embedded in the finish, and then you can polish the finish.

·
Registered
533 Posts
Re: (SHOlover)

yep, sho is correct. clay bar removes the particles that are embedded in the clearcoat. When the surface is clayed, it leaves little microscopic dimples or breaks in the clearcoat left by the particles. then you work your way down with different cut compounds(heaviest to lightest) till you have a fresh layer of clearcoat with no scratches. then you wax over that. the only way to recover clearcoat is to spray another layer of clearcoat on the paint... but becareful because too much clear coat will eventually orange peel

·