SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good evening! I just purchased a 06 S40, and I am unterested in installing an HID kit, since it does
have projectors. I am looking at a ds2 from the same supplier I have for my previous vehicles. My question being, do I need a relay harness, or is it plug and play? Any DIY's or tips on installing a kit. I am going with the "slim" ballast kit, I am trying to have the install as incognito and clean as possible. I am new to Volvo, moving forward past VW's, so any help would be appreciated!

thanks!

·
Registered
484 Posts
Good evening! I just purchased a 06 S40, and I am unterested in installing an HID kit, since it does
have projectors. I am looking at a ds2 from the same supplier I have for my previous vehicles. My question being, do I need a relay harness, or is it plug and play? Any DIY's or tips on installing a kit. I am going with the "slim" ballast kit, I am trying to have the install as incognito and clean as possible. I am new to Volvo, moving forward past VW's, so any help would be appreciated!

thanks!
All you going to need is this This which pretty much allows you to trick the computer into thinking that there is normal amperage being drawn by the bulb. If you dont install these resistors you will get a message on your info screen saying your low beam bulbs are out and they will most likely flicker.

To install them its kinda straight forward, you remove the headlight by pulling out the long silver pin behind the headlight and working the headlight assembly out. There is no screws to be removed. The rest is drilling the small 1inch hole in the bulb cover in the back of the headlight and connecting the wires. You can find DIY in the archives on here. And Also you need H11 type bulbs. These are good quality and many Volvo owners have used their product.. H11

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·