SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
475 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So im not to experienced in working in the engine and i thought that maybe someone knew how or what it will take to replace a valve. I own a 2004.5 2.4i volvo s40. Any kind of help is greatly appreciated. when driving you can hear the valve "ticking" or "rapping":mad:

·
Registered
6,415 Posts
I'm not sure how serious your issue is but don't over react either. It is perfectly normal to hear the valve close and open as the engine runs when you listen to it closely...
I'm no expert at all but I would think it would be quite a technical job to do replace the valve. Hopefully someone else more experienced than I (maybe who has done cam upgrades) can help you here . . .

·
Registered
4,372 Posts
Well, it's kind of hard to diagnose this stuff over the internet but a "ticking" valve is most likely just the lifter. Way cheaper than a valve job, it can be replaced with the head still in the car. These typically get loud when gunked up with sludge although it's possible to get a bad one. Have you been changing the oil regularly? Use a quality synthetic?

·
Registered
957 Posts
Yep, a "ticking" noise is most likely a sticky lifter. Means you haven't been changing your oil frequently enough. A "BAD" valve would cause a miss or a puffing sound out the exhaust.

·
Registered
1,866 Posts
Well, it's kind of hard to diagnose this stuff over the internet but a "ticking" valve is most likely just the hydraulic lifter. Way cheaper than a valve job, it can be replaced with the head still in the car. These typically get loud when gunked up with sludge although it's possible to get a bad one. Have you been changing the oil regularly? Use a quality synthetic?
Shame is though, that neither the T5 nor the 2.4l have hydraulic lifters. The only P1 engines with those are the diesels. At least here in Europe. I don't think the US gets differently constructed engines...