SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello there! I'm new to SwedeSpeed and Volvos in general. I love my 2019 XC90 Inscription so far. But since I have driven it a few times at night I have noticed the low beams do NOT seem bright enough especially for a newer generation car.
I thought maybe I was crazy at first or just needed getting used to it, but my parents immediately noticed it when we went for a drive at night.
I have driven several different vehicles since 2007 models, and the XC90 just seems to be "dim" on the low beams. Don't get me wrong, the hi-beams are fantastic.
Also there appear to be 8 LEDs on each headlight that do NOT turn on no matter what setting you have your headlights on - even the high beams do not make them come on. I have searched and searched for answers on this and there is nothing to be found on google/youtube.
Please help!
-Jonathan

·
Registered
70 Posts
Yup I feel the same the low beams are not as bright as I’d like them to be. At least they appear dimmer than my 2002 Chevy truck retrofitted wit HID projectors.

Those other LEDs you are referring to are fake from my understanding. They do not turn on and are just for looks.

·
Registered
2004 V70 T5M -- 2019 V90CC T6
2,812 Posts
That's very disappointing to hear about fake LEDs...thanks for the info.
They are there because real LEDs occupy those spaces on European-spec cars and their headlights. Advanced headlight technology is illegal for those of us that have to abide by the backwards, upside down, and stupidly ancient DOT regulations (not kidding), so yeah.
In the U.S and Canadian markets (not sure about Mexico), those spots are left blank. They aren't fake by design -- they're blank by necessity.

·
Registered
34 Posts