SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright, I am a huge noob. I dont even own my s40 yet, but Its what i plan on getting after my Focus sells.
I currently have a 2001 modified focus, and to start getting more HP, you immediatly add an intake, a full exhaust (header-cat-all the way back)
Bigger coils wires etc etc... and then you get it tuned
Then you get to turbo, and bigger injectors and bigger intercoolers and such. and tune it again.

It really is as simple as that. With the volvo, whats the best route to take?
on the hot side of the turbo, are there any options for different pipes or exhaust header or are all the exhausts started at the cat? Making it a cat-back?
The car i will be getting is a t5 geartronic, and i know that if its in geartronic and its not shifted manually by a certain rpm (4k or 5k) i think, it shifts for you...
Im wondering if you can tune that out, so it wont shift until you click it to shift. Id like to hold the boost into the higher rpm ranges.
If its tuned, can i just put in some larger injectors?
Can I buy an aftermarket intercooler setup?

What about throttle bodies? My focus came with like a 50mm tb, and i upgraded to a 65mm and that gave the pedal so much more response. 0hp, but alot more responsive....

Sorry for all the questions, I just have been searching for a few days and havent found anything.
The car already has the K&N setup, but Im not sure about the ECU placement...should it be moved?

·
Registered
1,866 Posts
Okay, a 70 mm TB is available, but doesn't make sense, as turbo engine "air flow" doesn't depend on the TB size. Instead it is the turbo pressure. So no reason to.

A tune up to around 380 hp doesn't require much:

- Different Turbo
- Different Software
- Different Cat
- Different exhaust
- Different Piping from MAF to Turbo