SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So my rear shocks are leaking and i saw there's going to be a group buy for BC coilovers for our caRs. I'm still pretty new to modding/working on suspension for my R, although I did a full bilstein suspension replacement on my old s60.

If i were to buy the set on FCPeuro for $1,000 what exactly is necessary to do to do the full switch from the 4C setup to coilovers? Will I need new springs/mounts? (It doesn't look like they come with springs) and I'm assuming there's some way to deactivate the 4C with vida or something. Any help/experience is appreciated :)

·
Registered
136 Posts
You can't deactivate the 4C system. It's all tied in together with your headlights, the chassis settings, and your ABS I believe. You have to trick the sensor into thinking it's still running the electronic struts.

Sent from my 831C using Tapatalk

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You can't deactivate the 4C system. It's all tied in together with your headlights, the chassis settings, and your ABS I believe. You have to trick the sensor into thinking it's still running the electronic struts.

is that the thing where you mount the sensor on the chassis?

·
Registered
136 Posts
Yeah, I believe there's a couple write ups on different ways to do it. I want to do coilovers too, it's a lot cheaper than a whole 4C setup on all 4.

·
Registered
407 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yeah and I feel like coilovers would be much better suited on the R, I'm not a fan of the 4C. Plus FCP has their lifetime warranty so it's basically $1000 for unlimited coilovers. I'm just unsure about the intricacies of it.

·
Registered
501 Posts