SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
833 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey bunch, I'm new in this part of the forum.

Going to close on an '08 V8 with 123k this afternoon. I've looked over everything on it that I could find in this forum... need to look at the battery and make sure all the spare tire kit is there, but other than that... I spent about an hour yesterday in the dealer lot around and underneath it with a flashlight poking and prodding. I can't find anything mechanically wrong with it. Drove great, no clunks, trans seems strong, all power stuff seems to work as it should.

Anyone have any last minute tips or words of advice not mentioned elsewhere? Little things that everybody forgets in the prebuy on these?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
245 Posts
You said "dealer lot". Do you mean an actual Volvo dealership? I ask because getting a PPI is well worth the $100. The 08 V8 is statistically one of the "good" ones. Not sure what to check at 123k since I'm at about half that...

·
Registered
2,147 Posts
Shocks, control arm bushings, headlight lenses especially if xenon

·
Registered
833 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
No Xenons... I did my best to single out every option that could be an irritatingly expensive failure item as it ages. Struts and arm bushings looked great (actually looked new). Not a Volvo dealer, but a used dealer that specializes in Euro makes. They scanned for codes with a DiCE in front of me and my old Volvo tech buddy tagged along. It was more thorough than any dealer PPI I've ever paid for and observed.

·
Registered
1,211 Posts
I bought mine its a 2008 V8 with 120k... .and i drove it for about an hour looked at it kept trying to find flaws and i just couldnt.