SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
269 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, first off, thanks for clicking :thumbup:

Recently my '04 2.5T's engine blew :(. I'm looking at replacements and will be DIY'ing. Engine is already out of the car, in fact.

My question is:
Should I slap in a 2.5t or a T5 engine. Obviously the stock engine is 2.5t, but as I'm seeing the price points for both engines are around the same, I'd like to upgrade if possible.
I know the architecture is almost identical and should just slip in, but I'm not sure If I could just slap in a T5 ECU along with the engine and call it a day?

Every time this is brought up people are always like "just buy a T5 or an R," I'm aware of these cars and can't afford to buy them at the moment. Otherwise, I'd already have one :p. Please realize my engine is already blown and I'm at a speculative stage. I'm a mechanic (not a Volvo Tech lol) and will be doing the work myself/with a friend or two. I have access to any and all tools.
Also planning to maybe do a manual conversion, given the right circumstances/budget.

What I really need to know:
Simply, can I put a T5 engine and ECU in successfully?
Can you point me in the direction of someone who's done it?
Do you have a good source for an ECU and Engine?
Do you know of anyone/a wholesaler selling a transmission kit?- clutch master cylinder, clutch pedal, transmission, bracket, links etc.
If you're gonna say "it can't be done," can you explain why?

I'm in the Jersey Area and would also love to know if anyone knew of a good pick and pull around here? I know there's a few in PA, but can anyone recommend something?

I appreciate your time everybody, thanks for reading, and thank you in advance. :) Rock on Volbros

·
Registered
7,612 Posts