SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 112 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I just recently took interest into hacking the ECU (ECM) on my 06 S40. Being that I'm a computer engineering student, I figured it would be a fun challenge to take a wack at. I don't think that anyone on SS has ever tried reverse engineering this thing. I started out by researching the Denso company that manufactures our ECUs for Volvo. It turns out that a lot of Denso ECUs have already been hacked and their code dissassembled. I ordered a second ECU off ebay, but couldn't wait long enough for it to get here, so I decided to crack mine open (bad idea).

The Goal:
I hope to make it possible for us S40(and probably V50) owners to be able to dump our ROMs and modify them with existing ECUFlash software.

Pictures:

Before opening

Removed 4 screws, and started prying in the corner with a screw driver.

Once I saw the legs of that SH7052 processor, a huge grid appeared on my face. I was hoping that I wouldn't have to de-pot the PCB.

Presto! The thing opened up like a clam shell revealing this beautiful gem.

When I first saw that cap on the EPROM I thought that it was a connector for some kind of debug interface. I quickly popped the cap off and immediately said ohhhh s**t!!! That cap was protecting a Ultraviolet Erasable Programmable Read Only Memory (UV-EPROM). Me being outside when I did this, I thought that I had just screwed over my ECU. I quickly put the thing back together and reinstalled it in my car, and the thing started right up. THANK THE SUN GODS (low UV index day) that nothing got erased... yet. Perhaps some of the bits got erased in the higher addresses that might not be accessed while driving leisurely.

Datasheets:
SH7052 (32 bit RISC CPU): datasheet (919 pages)
SH7058 (32 bit RISC CPU): datasheet (1132 pages)
MC33186DH: datasheet

Research: