SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 63 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My son and I are looking at a 2002 and a 2007 XC for a mild build to replace his gas/maintenance hog of a Landcruiser (FZJ80 ... 1994 ... Classic). Anything to look for in the early vs late builds? The price difference is significant and the 2002 is really clean with roughtly equivalent mileage of the 07.

Thanks in advance for the help and all the build thread documentation.

Chris

·
Registered
1,093 Posts
I’m no expert, but I remember hearing the trans was a potential problem until ‘05. Again, I’m not 100%. I’m sure someone will pipe up with more knowledge.

·
Registered
16,945 Posts
01/02 Trans are crap.
05+ is where its at due to bumper / lights / interior up grades.

That being said , you can swap over pretty much anything from and 05+ into an older model for cosmetics.

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
01/02 Trans are crap.
05+ is where its at due to bumper / lights / interior up grades.

That being said , you can swap over pretty much anything from and 05+ into an older model for cosmetics.
Good to know. Any chance of a late build 02 having an 03 transmission? There is a $2500 delta between the 02 and the 07 ... i.e. the 07 is 2x as much as the 02

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
update ... found an 04 at a reasonable price.... Keeping eyes peeled for an 05 or later that isn't grand theft volvo.

·
Registered
13,471 Posts
Pretty sure that DSTC came standard on the '07 cars.

I would imagine there was a change in haldex generation going from '02 to '07.

Glass headlights on the pre-'05 cars are preferred over the later plastic lens ones.

·
Registered
1,817 Posts
As an owner of an 02, I would highly recommend avoiding an early XC. Unless you want to do a m66 6 speed swap, early XCs are not really a great idea unless you

A. Inherit it
B. It's a Cool/Rare Color combo you HAVE to have