SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
999 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I'm a Newb here, and I really like what I've seen of the site, it's very well laid out and professional.<P>I have a few questions. I had read something about E-Code headlights for 850s. I had European headlamps on my Saab 9000T and they were fabulous. Are the European headlamps different for the 850s than the ones we Yanks get, and if so, is the lens pattern better? I'd be interested in investigating these, if they weren't going to require a second mortgage, or selling my first born to science. Besides, she'd probably not garner much from the science folks, with the mouth she's got on her, lol.<P>I apologize if this topic was previously beaten to death. I couldn't find anything directly related in my searches.<P>TIA!<P><BR>

·
Registered
942 Posts
Hi All,<BR>I got E-code lights (last fall) for my 855R from Borton Volvo (http://www.borton.com/volvo.html-ssi);<BR>"internet customer price" of just under $500.<P>E-code lamps are superior to DOT stuff, cut-off beam works great in rain/fog; better H series bulbs and BONUS! now my car looks exactly like the Euro press photos...<BR>only drawback is loss of bubble level in lamp housing...E-code cars have a different system involving electric motors to aim lamps when load or terrain changes, cool but too $$ for me.<BR>Get E-codes, they are worth the dough.<P>Best,<BR>Adam<BR>'96 855R 116k<BR>'67 1800S SCCA racecar

·
Premium Member
6,997 Posts
Interesting, so a domestic dealer could order the European spec part? Knowing that, I wonder how hard/expensive it'd be to order Ecodes for our Project 245?

·
Registered
999 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·