SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello All! I am fairly new to swedespeed and this is my first thread. Thanks to all who post their experiences for the rest of us to learn from. Anyway, I am on my third Volvo. The first is a 99 S70 which I still own. A year ago I added a 2004 Nautical Blue XC70. That car was damaged in an accident in VA. The insurance decided to call it a total loss so I took my settlement check and moved up to a 07 Lava Sand XC70. This last car had 92K miles and the interior is in wonderful condition. With the help of this forum and experience with my previous XC70 I have already done some regular maintenance and cosmetic additions to the car. Enjoy the thread and may it be of help to some of you!

04 XC70 and 07 XC70

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
The car came with newish pads on the original rotors. These had a lip of at least 1mm on each side so after 5K miles with them I've decided to make t he first major upgrade/maintenance item: newfront rotors and pads. The rotors werer also upgraded from 286mm to 305mm. Here are the parts I used:
StopTeach Powerslot Rotors 126.39026SL

New and larger caliper brackets are also needed to clear the new, bigger rotors. A new caliper is not needed, just the bracket. The p/n is 36000727

Here is a comparison between the old 286mm and the new 305mm brackets:

I used the Akebono premium brake pads this time. I have used them in the past and they provide great stopping power with minimal brake dust.

I will not go into detail about how to change the rotors and pads since there are many threads on that subject here on swwedespeed already. I will just advise to take your time and make sure all bolts are tight before heading out on the road. Also, the 305mm rotors will fit the original 16" wheels without the need for spacers. Here are some before and after photos.
Rotor Comparison:

Old Rotor:

New Rotor: