·
Registered
17,406 Posts
You’re gonna need more than one roll of that... lol

·
Registered
9,228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
The tape will dry up and start to come off.

Sonny boy I've been using it for 30 years but yes if you cheap out and buy inferior product then yes your Dollar Tree tape will come off... and I had cars that were in my possession for 15 years and nothing was coming off.

·
Registered
2,889 Posts
The tape will dry up and start to come off.
You’ve been using cheap tape.
3M 33 and 88 are both Excellent electrical tapes.
Sure, you’ll pay more for one roll than a 10 pack of
crappy tape, but you really do get what you pay for.

That said, I have never needed to over wrap split-
loom like that. Kinda seems like a waste of tape.
I must be missing something - What is the advantage?

·
Registered
9,228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·

my gosh where have you been?...once wrapped the plastic covering will NEVER crumble = never have to redo harness.

·
Registered
269 Posts

·
Registered
269 Posts

Just touching the harness on my '06 causes the loom to come apart. After doing a trans R&R my harness is largely bare.

And under the coil cover... oy! I had a problem with the ignition fuse blowing every time the car sat for a while. Turns out not only is all the loom gone under there, but the insulation on the wiring is so brittle that just touching it makes it fall of the wire. For now I made "diapers" of electrical tape under the parts where it was shorting to the cylinder head, but I need to replace it all... and cheapass me is waiting for a COP Volvo to show up at the junkyards, instead of paying $9 or so a terminal times 15 terminals, plus wire. (But I have enough scavanged wiring harness that I could probably scare up enough correct-colored wire to satisfy my OCD-ness) Or I could just pay $50 a pigtail times five, if I want a mass of white wires...

·
Registered
9,228 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·