SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I've been thinking for a while. Has anyone here with the SC-900/SC-901 upgraded the speakers from stock, and if so, what did you use. I'm interested in refreshing my sound system in my car but I'm not even sure where to begin, as when it comes to audio, I'm basically a newb. I don't even know if it's worth upgrading speakers, or just leaving them stock.

The picture painted in my head so far is utilizing the stock system with fresh speakers and a dedicated subwoofer. My biggest beef with the system is it seems the speakers can't handle the systems output at higher volumes, particularly with the bass. Is that a limitation of the speakers or the system itself? :confused: I'm interested in keeping the stock system as I still listen to CDs, and I have the in-dash 3-disc changer, multiple 3-disc cartridges, and a Volvo 6-disc changer for the rear.

·
Registered
2,887 Posts
These cars shipped with pretty nice speakers.
( Some even came with very nice Dynaudios.)

If your existing speakers haven't been trashed,
start with the subwoofer and you may be just
fine with your system after that.

·
Registered
1,282 Posts
Do you have the Dolby center dash speaker and processor? I've added just the processor and it helps enrich the sound. Also, these radios can be programmed to the car they are in. There is a mode setting for v70, s70 and c70, iirc. This will make a difference in the sound quality as well. Google sc901 settings and you'll find out more about this amazing stock upgraded radio system.
Dan

·
Registered
354 Posts