SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

Keep the "XC90" or, name it something new?

• Keep XC90

Votes: 35 92.1%
  • New Name

Votes: 3 7.9%
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
487 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today I was driving to work and went by a half-dozen of the previous generation XC90's. It crossed my mind that this new XC90 is so drastically different that I had to wonder if the name XC90 was a mistake? I am new to the Volvo brand, had a pretty specific requirement set when shopping for SUV's, and would never have considered this vehicle if it were not for the dramatic changes. It is so very different that I wonder if Volvo missed an opportunity to end-of-life the XC90 name and attract even more customers by not associating the new with the old. That said, since I was not previously a Volvo enthusiast or loyalist or whatever you want to call someone attached to their older generation XC90, perhaps there was such admiration for the XC90 that is would have been damaging NOT to have the XC90 name attached to the new SPA 2016 version. So I ask the question, would you prefer a new name for your 2016 XC90 or keep it the same?

·
Registered
218 Posts
If the old XC90 were somehow unpopular then yes. But it was a very successful vehicle. You build on that brand rather than trying to recreate it. For example, some of the early articles said something like, "the old XC90 won our SUV of the year award when it was introduced over a decade ago." If you choose a new name they can't say things like that.

·
Registered
478 Posts
The generations are enough alike to make rebranding too confusing. Plus, the old XC90 was pretty successful.

·
Registered
487 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·