SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I have an 05 SR with 102000 on the clock. I started it uo tonight and the engine light popped up and really concerned me. I piped the hood and noticed a bit of oil sprayed around the engine. I noticed the dipstick popped out and am wondering what could possibly do that and would it cause an engine light to pop up? If so, how urgent is it that I take it to the dealer to have a look at the computer? I'm new to this since I bought it last month. Other than that the car is in great condition and has extensive service records, the previous owner treated it very well

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

·
Registered
136 Posts
Sounds like you have too much pressure build up in the crankcase. Must be a PCV issue. It is probably clogged or needs to be replaced.

Sent from my LGLS770 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sounds like you have too much pressure build up in the crankcase. Must be a PCV issue. It is probably clogged or needs to be replaced.

Sent from my LGLS770 using Tapatalk
Thanks for the reply, how much do you reckon that will cost?

·
Registered
421 Posts
Agreed with Jorge_2825. It's most likely an issue with the PCV system. Cost is something I am unsure of, but I am sure someone around knows as it's a well known general maintenance issue.

·
Registered
73 Posts