SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
866 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Did the wastegate tweak, but now a problem *Update*

Finally did the wastegate tweak 2 turns and all I can say is: Wow! <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/biggrin.gif" BORDER="0"> <br>I better get my boost gauge installed, pronto. Sport feels more like Advanced now. I didn't romp on it because I was afraid I might freakin' break something.<p>However after over two years of ownership, I finally got my first warning light. I got the amber exclamation point and the "Brake Assist Service Required" message. <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/mad.gif" BORDER="0"> <p>I drove the car around last week with no problem. I didn't get the message until this evening after I did the tweak, which makes me wonder if I did something to cause it. I was digging down around the heat shield, trying to get it off. Maybe I knocked something loose? <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/confused.gif" BORDER="0"><p>If if's gotta go to the dealer, I do have an extended warranty. Actually, it's more like insurance. <p>Is there anything I can do to troubleshoot?<p><br><i>Modified by redalrt at 7:10 PM 8-16-2009</i><BR><BR>
<i>Modified by redalrt at 8:19 PM 8-18-2009</i>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
454 Posts
Re: Did the wastegate tweak, but now a problem (redalrt)

You think your wastegate tweak is related to your warning light . . . :::facepalm:::<p>ughh<p>here - <A HREF="http://forums.swedespeed.com/zerothread?id=104185" TARGET="_blank">http://forums.swedespeed.com/zerothread?id=104185</A>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
866 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: Did the wastegate tweak, but now a problem (TurboR850)

Maybe not the tweak itself, but something related to it if I knocked something loose. I edited my post.<BR><BR>
<i>Modified by redalrt at 7:15 PM 8-16-2009</i>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,266 Posts
Re: Did the wastegate tweak, but now a problem (redalrt)

No way, no how no chance is ur wg tweak thae cause of the error message. u have a totally differebt issue
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,059 Posts
Re: Did the wastegate tweak, but now a problem (jstro)

Your car might be pissed that you used a screwdriver to move the thimble. <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/tongue.gif" BORDER="0"> If you use a mity vac it turns with no effort. Just FYI.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
600 Posts
CHECK YOUR BRAKE POSITION SENSOR... ON THE BRAKE BOOSTER.... YOU MAY HAVE KNOCKED THE WIRE OFF OR SOMETHING...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
866 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Re: (PSAC)

I did try to access the thimble from that area. I'll take a closer look at it this evening. It just seems a little too coincidental.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,481 Posts
Re: (PSAC)

I concur with PSAC. If you were really "digging" around the heat shield, you may have bumped something. I would just check all the connections before you bring it to the dealer. It takes a few minutes to check all the plugs in that area.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
866 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Re: (T5 for Life)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>T5 for Life</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">I concur with PSAC. If you were really "digging" around the heat shield, you may have bumped something. I would just check all the connections before you bring it to the dealer. It takes a few minutes to check all the plugs in that area.</TD></TR></TABLE><p>There are a couple of wires mounted on standoffs over the heatshield. They did get manipulated a bit as I was trying to get the heatshield off. <br>I'll get in there and look around with a strong flashlight. Couldn't do it last evening cause I ran out of daylight and it was getting late.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
866 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
Re: Did the wastegate tweak, but now a problem (redalrt)

Interestingly, when I started the car up today, the message had changed from "Brake Assist Service Required" to "Engine System Service Required" There was still only one message, leading me to believe that the message was related to the tweak to begin with as I originally thought. Maybe the ECM was confused at first. <p>So, I backed the thimble up to its original position, started the car up and the message and exclamation point were gone (whew). Now I DON'T have to go to the dealer. Man, I was dreading that.<p>I tweaked the thimble only one turn and put the heatshield back on, started the car, still no message. OK, then. <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/biggrin.gif" BORDER="0"> <p>Boost still comes on early as before with a nice kick in the pants but not quite as hard. I may go another 1/2 turn. 1 1/2 turns may be all she's gonna let me have, but for now she's OK with one, cuz as we all know, every R is different, your (my) results may vary <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://www.vwvortex.com/vwbb/wink.gif" BORDER="0">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,157 Posts
Re: Did the wastegate tweak, but now a problem (redalrt)

I still have a hard time believing that your tweak is causing the CEL's you've described. However, I guess if setting it back has cured things, who am I to argue?<p>All the tweak will do is adjust your baseline boost before the wastegate opens. The worst case scenario is that you set it so high the TCV is unable to handle boost spikes and you overboost and go into limp mode.<p>This is why whenever you do the wastegate tweak you should also repeat the ECU training procedure that IPD recommends when replacing the TCV. Also, you should really use a pressure gauge when setting the wastegate.<p>Did you reset the ECU after you tweaked the wastegate the first time?<p>Cheers,<p>Jeff
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
866 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Re: Did the wastegate tweak, but now a problem (soupandspoons)

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>soupandspoons</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">I still have a hard time believing that your tweak is causing the CEL's you've described. However, I guess if setting it back has cured things, who am I to argue?</TD></TR></TABLE><p>I described the situation just as it happened. It wasn't a CEL. If I'm not mistaken, the messages are generated by DTCs. Two turns turned the message on, two turns back turned it off. I'm certainly glad it didn't go into limp mode.<p><TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>soupandspoons</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">This is why whenever you do the wastegate tweak you should also repeat the ECU training procedure that IPD recommends when replacing the TCV. Also, you should really use a pressure gauge when setting the wastegate.</TD></TR></TABLE><p>Understood. However, after studying the thread, some folks used a pressure gauge (which is a good idea) and some did not, using up to two turns to no adverse effect. I went two turns and had a problem. A light came on which was not on before. I could be wrong, but I saw no general recommendation to retrain the ECU in the thread.<p><TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD><i>Quote, originally posted by <b>soupandspoons</b> »</i></TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">Did you reset the ECU after you tweaked the wastegate the first time?</TD></TR></TABLE><p>No, I didn't see a general recommendation to do that so neither did I. <p>I suppose the important thing is that the message is gone and the car is running great.<p>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63,543 Posts
Re: Did the wastegate tweak, but now a problem *Update* (redalrt)

Try another 1/2 turn, if it still has no CEL, that's where your car likes it!<br>Remember all these cars are a bit different, one turn for one car may be two for another or 1/2 for the 3rd.<br>I tightened my <I>new to me </I>2000 V70R one turn, it didn't throw a CEL but it didn't drive well. It was overboosting and just felt weird so I turned it back to 1/2 turn and now it seems perfect. <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://********************/smile/emthup.gif" BORDER="0"> <br><B><br>Remember if you do this with no gauge, it's trial and error.</B>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
866 Posts
Discussion Starter · #14 ·
Re: Did the wastegate tweak, but now a problem *Update* (JRL)

I'll try it and report later <IMG NAME="icon" SRC="http://********************/smile/emthup.gif" BORDER="0">
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
519 Posts
Well redairt at first I was skeptical too but you seemed to have found your problem and as has been said, "Who am I to argue?"
 
1 - 15 of 15 Posts
Top