SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 148 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,545 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I know that the build quality of the China DICE units has been sliding lower and lower since prices started dropping t. Has anyone recently received a China DICE unit? Can anyone comment on build quality from units received in the last couple months?

To help any prospective buyers here at SS here are three links to DICE/VIDA from suppliers via Ali-Express all priced at under $180 shipped:

$175 item 330832971 Shenzhen Digiobd Electron Technology Co., Ltd.
98.9% positive feedback (no negative feedback related DICE units)
- pretty responsive to e-mail, this vendor has confirmed his units are made from 'rigid plastic'

$173.68 item 357979568 Shenzhen OEMScan Technology Co., Ltd.
100% positive feedback.
- sent e-mail 36hrs ago still waiting on response (asked a question about shipping and if DICE is made from plastic)
- discrepancy in their description (in one place it says comes with VIDA 2010 A and lower down it says 2011A 0 no big deal just pointing it out, from what I've read 2010D is good unless you have a 2011+ volvo)
- interesting that they say this "we are the factory ,have the after-sales department and develop technologe department"

$178.95 item 437145144 Shenzhen OEMScan Technology Co., Ltd.
100% positive feedback
- Vendor's name is Yolanda, I think I've seen her name mentioned here on SS relating to good experience (can't recall who and which thread).
- lots of positive feedback from sales in the last 3-4 month specific to DiCE (to me this is a big plus and probably the deciding factor for me).
- I have not yet tried to contact this vendor.
- [edit] I chatted on-line with this vendor (Yolanda) last night, she seems quite professional and eager to please.
- Yolanda confirmed that the DiCE is the exact same in function to the 'DiCE Pro'.

My thought (hope) is/was that with lower item # it might indicate earlier builds which might indicate that the DICE unit was built longer ago with better parts and higher quality. Does anyone have any opinion/experience in this respect?

[edit] My 'hope' to find a better quality clone is a pipe-dream LOL! Seems pretty obvious now that these clone DiCE units probably all come from the same one or two manufacturers so the quality of the unit you get could be hit and miss (luck of the draw to a certain extent). My feeling/suggestion is to go with the vendor who has good feedback and has evidence of dealing with any problems/warranty issues in a fair and equitable way (from what I've read I think Yolanda fits that bill).


Thanks and happy 2012!

LTA
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
Hi
I've got my dice in DECEMBER via Aliexpress.com
http://www.aliexpress.com/snapshot/104086995.html
paid $180 delivered. Arrived 5 days after order via dhl.
This is my second dice. First one was from ebay and was faulty (windows didn't detect it at all) and second one was working stright away. Very please with this seller and dice itself.
I hope this will help a bit.
Regards
Jocker01
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
Has anyone been able to download software with the chinese units through the 3 day subscription on VIDA? One spare key programming would be enough to justify the purchase.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,545 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
My dice arrived today, got it from Yolanda $178.95 item 437145144 Shenzhen OEMScan Technology Co., Ltd.

Unfortunately this DICE seems a little faulty from the get-go :( VIDA2010D on Win7 Ult 32bit and VIDA2011A inside Virtual XP both work fine communicating with this Dice (ie passed diagnostics), however, when trying to communicate with my car there are problems.

Any time I initiate connection to the vehicle the DICE seems to reset itself because I hear/see Windows lose connection to it and I see the LED's on the DICE flash as if it were being power-cycled. Adding in a 12V adapter I managed to get it to connect to my car briefly (read the VIN and manged to grab the 'universal time' when trying to fault trace the alarm).

I'm digging through the log files in the folder C:\VIDA\System\Log\Diagnostics
I see various connection errors, can't tell if related to config or software problems.

I believe this is the output from the diagnostics test of the DICE:

20:31:14,913 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] PassThruOpen(DiCE-206751, 3)
20:31:14,928 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] Driver information Firmware:5.0.0-Apr 26 2007 13:30:26 DLLVersion:6.0.3.0 APIVersion:04.04
20:31:14,928 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] FAILED DiCE test IoCtl: TEST_CARB_PLUG_CONNECTED [what's this??]
20:31:14,944 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] OK DiCE test IoCtl: TEST_EEPROM
20:31:14,944 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] OK DiCE test IoCtl: TEST_FLASH_INTERNAL
20:31:14,960 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] OK DiCE test IoCtl: TEST_FLASH_EXTERNAL
20:31:14,975 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] OK DiCE test IoCtl: TEST_RAM_INTERNAL
20:31:15,864 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] OK DiCE test IoCtl: TEST_RAM_EXTERNAL
20:31:20,888 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] OK DiCE test IoCtl: TEST_LED
20:31:22,916 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] OK DiCE test IoCtl: TEST_PC_BT_LOOPBACK


Here's some log file output from what looks like my one and only successful VIN read:

VIDA release: VIDA2010D

20:29:40,021 [SoftwareProductI][Event] Database: DiagSwdlRepository, SP: GetSWDLSupportedVehicleModels
20:29:40,910 [VehicleResolverS][Error] Could not create aggregate profilestring, ''
20:29:40,941 [DotNetPreLoader ][Info] PreLoad time: 00:00:05.9200103
20:30:22,525 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] Loading J2534 driver: C:\Program Files\DiCE\Tools\TSDiCE32.dll
20:30:23,047 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] PassThruOpen(DiCE-206751, 0)
20:30:23,067 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] Driver information Firmware:5.0.0-Apr 26 2007 13:30:26 DLLVersion:6.0.3.0 APIVersion:04.04
20:30:23,127 [VidaMessageBox ][Event] VidaMessageBox launched
20:30:34,487 [VidaMessageBox ][User] Button: OK clicked (VidaMessageBox)
20:30:37,435 [IdentifyVehicleW][Info]
20:30:37,435 [IdentifyVehicleW][Info] >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Read VIN <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
20:30:37,435 [IdentifyVehicleW][Info]
20:30:37,741 [ScriptProvider ][Event] Database: DiagSwdlRepository, SP: GetScript, Type: 'ReadVin' ScriptId: '' Language: 'en-US' EcuType: '-1' Profile: 'EMPTYPROFILE,'
20:30:39,231 [ScriptProvider ][Info] Fetched script: ScriptInfo docno: 'VCC-225200' title: 'Read VIN first readout (Odometer Value) (No immo check)' variantId: ''
20:30:39,387 [Script ][Info] Running script: ScriptInfo docno: 'VCC-225200' title: 'Read VIN first readout (Odometer Value) (No immo check)'

Notice the one part above in BOLD, should "Driver Information Firmware" match the firmware reported from the DICE? I successfully upgraded my DICE to 5.5.0 but that line in bold show 5.0.0 Or is that line referring the the s/w driver version??

Here are some of the errors:

22:36:22,291 [DiagnosticVehCom][Warning] J2534 diagnostic error
22:36:22,291 [DiagnosticVehCom][Info] Using diagnumber '09469693 A'
22:36:22,291 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] Stop J2534 message filter ID 0 channel 89
22:36:22,291 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] J2534Channel::Close()
22:36:22,291 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] PassThruDisconnect(89)
22:36:22,291 [DiagConnection ][VehCom] VehComm request: Ecu '40', Message 'B9FB'
22:36:22,291 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] PassThruConnect(88, 0x10000001, 0x20000100, 125000, 90)
22:36:22,291 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] PassThruIoctl SET_CONFIG DATA_RATA=125000, LOOPBACK=0 BIT_SAMPLE_POINT=68
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] PassThruIoctl SET_CONFIG CAN_XON_XOFF_STMIN=40
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] Start J2534 message filter ID 0 on channel 90
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] J2534Channel::periodicSend()
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] Start J2534 periodic message channelId: 90 pMsgId:0
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] Sending D2 request. Retries:0
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] PassThruWriteMsgs(90, PASSTHRU_MSG, 1, 2000) - ScriptThread ->DiCE-206751<-
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] Get last J2534 error: Unable to communication with device.
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] J2534 function:passThruWriteMsgs failed with return value:ERR_DEVICE_NOT_CONNECTED
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] J2534 DLL error description:Unable to communication with device.
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] ---> (0) 00,0F,FF,FE,CB,40,B9,FB,00,00,00,00,
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] PassThruOpen(DiCE-206751, 4294967295)
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] Get last J2534 error: Device is currently open.
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] J2534 function:passThruOpen failed with return value:ERR_DEVICE_IN_USE
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] J2534 DLL error description:Device is currently open.
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] J2534Channel::Close()
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] Get last J2534 error: Unable to communication with device.
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] J2534 function:passThruStopPeriodicMsg failed with return value:ERR_DEVICE_NOT_CONNECTED
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] J2534 DLL error description:Unable to communication with device.
22:36:22,306 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] PassThruDisconnect(90)
22:36:22,416 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] PassThruClose(88)
22:36:22,416 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] Get last J2534 error: Device ID invalid.
22:36:22,416 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] J2534 function:passThruIoctl_ReadVBatt failed with return value:ERR_INVALID_DEVICE_ID
22:36:22,416 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] J2534 DLL error description:Device ID invalid.
22:36:22,416 [DiagnosticVehCom][Warning] J2534 hardware error: device not connected
22:36:22,416 [DiagnosticVehCom][Info] Using diagnumber '08666792 F'
22:36:22,416 [DiagConnection ][VehCom] VehComm request: Ecu '50', Message 'B9FB'
22:36:22,525 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] PassThruOpen(DiCE-206751, 4294967295)
22:36:22,525 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] Get last J2534 error: Undefined error.
22:36:22,525 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] J2534 function:passThruOpen failed with return value:ERR_FAILED
22:36:22,525 [J2534ChannelMana][VehCom] J2534 DLL error description:Undefined error.
22:36:22,525 [DiagnosticVehCom][Warning] Could not initialize communication device

Before I take this up with the supplier anyone have any suggestions or insights to share?

LTA
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
VIDA 2011D doesn't seem to like the earlier firmware on DiCE units. The latest version is 5.6.1, which is available here:
https://www.volvotechinfo.com/index.cfm?event=info.softwareUpdates
15 meg download and when you run it, it installs the latest DiCE drivers and the latest firmware update in your C:\program files\DiCE\Tools directory. It will only install the latest drivers and VIDA 2011D onto your C:\ drive.

Read the other posts to see how to update properly without destroying your DiCE.
That said, 2010D should work fine with firmware 5.5.0, which my unit also came with. Not any problems. And I just updated to 5.6.1 firmware, and it tests just fine, but haven't used it on the care with 2010D yet.

The first diagnostic seems to say that your OBD port isn't communicating, which would be expected if you only had a power supply, but not hooked to the car. The error in the log file seems to verify that, note the:
Get last J2534 error: Unable to communication with device.
J2534 function:passThruWriteMsgs failed with return value:ERR_DEVICE_NOT_CONNECTED
J2534 DLL error description:Unable to communication with device.

This is telling you that it is not communicating.

Later:
J2534 DLL error description:Device ID invalid and
Could not initialize communication device
tell you that it is not getting a response from the DiCE unit. Are you sure the plug is in correctly? But it still should be getting communication with the DiCE, but I'm going to guess that it is trying to communicate with the car or even the DiCE unit itself and is failing. I'd check your cable, or the connection to the OBD plug.

Also, I've had one unit that had a wire that was broken right as it went into the plug where the OBD wires connect to the electronic board inside the DiCE unit. This broke later, apparently the wire was only connected by a single thread of wire, and it broke with normal sue for an hour or so. That would certainly cause a problem like this but it should have shown up in your first test, so if it is a broken wire, it happened after you first used it, and manipulated the OBD cable a bit. If you are really comfortable doing this, take the end cap off where the OBD plug goes in (six small phillips head screws), and shine a light on the wires where they end in a white 9 pin plug that goes onto the circuit board. (there is also a 2 wire plug, but that is only for power to the board from the accessory power plug) touch each wire right where it goes into the plug with a very thin probe, and if it isn't connected, you should be able to tell. If disconnected, you have the unenviable task of unplugging the plug and fixing the broken wire, all without removing the warranty label on the side of the unit. It can be done, I've done it, and it solved communication problems. If this is the problem, and it is only one possibility, you might have to buy new ends that go into the plug, and put a new metal plug end on that wire that fits into the white plug. BE VERY CAREFUL to draw a diagram of where the wires go in the plug if you pull more than one out at a time. I was glad I wrote down which wire went where. I can give you the pinouts if necessary. The wire colors may change, but which pin on the circuit board attaches to the which OBD pins won't change.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
Sorry, with normal use, not sue. Typed too fast, and can't figure out how to edit my own quote.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,545 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
VIDA 2011D doesn't seem to like the earlier firmware on DiCE units. The latest version is 5.6.1, which is available here:
https://www.volvotechinfo.com/index.cfm?event=info.softwareUpdates
15 meg download and when you run it, it installs the latest DiCE drivers and the latest firmware update in your C:\program files\DiCE\Tools directory. It will only install the latest drivers and VIDA 2011D onto your C:\ drive.

Read the other posts to see how to update properly without destroying your DiCE.
That said, 2010D should work fine with firmware 5.5.0, which my unit also came with. Not any problems. And I just updated to 5.6.1 firmware, and it tests just fine, but haven't used it on the care with 2010D yet.

The first diagnostic seems to say that your OBD port isn't communicating, which would be expected if you only had a power supply, but not hooked to the car. The error in the log file seems to verify that, note the:
Get last J2534 error: Unable to communication with device.
J2534 function:passThruWriteMsgs failed with return value:ERR_DEVICE_NOT_CONNECTED
J2534 DLL error description:Unable to communication with device.

This is telling you that it is not communicating.

Later:
J2534 DLL error description:Device ID invalid and
Could not initialize communication device
tell you that it is not getting a response from the DiCE unit. Are you sure the plug is in correctly? But it still should be getting communication with the DiCE, but I'm going to guess that it is trying to communicate with the car or even the DiCE unit itself and is failing. I'd check your cable, or the connection to the OBD plug.

Also, I've had one unit that had a wire that was broken right as it went into the plug where the OBD wires connect to the electronic board inside the DiCE unit. This broke later, apparently the wire was only connected by a single thread of wire, and it broke with normal sue for an hour or so. That would certainly cause a problem like this but it should have shown up in your first test, so if it is a broken wire, it happened after you first used it, and manipulated the OBD cable a bit. If you are really comfortable doing this, take the end cap off where the OBD plug goes in (six small phillips head screws), and shine a light on the wires where they end in a white 9 pin plug that goes onto the circuit board. (there is also a 2 wire plug, but that is only for power to the board from the accessory power plug) touch each wire right where it goes into the plug with a very thin probe, and if it isn't connected, you should be able to tell. If disconnected, you have the unenviable task of unplugging the plug and fixing the broken wire, all without removing the warranty label on the side of the unit. It can be done, I've done it, and it solved communication problems. If this is the problem, and it is only one possibility, you might have to buy new ends that go into the plug, and put a new metal plug end on that wire that fits into the white plug. BE VERY CAREFUL to draw a diagram of where the wires go in the plug if you pull more than one out at a time. I was glad I wrote down which wire went where. I can give you the pinouts if necessary. The wire colors may change, but which pin on the circuit board attaches to the which OBD pins won't change.
thanks for all the info
can u check your logs and tellme if you see a match with dice firmware to driver (refer to myhighlight above)
the hardware and wiring all looks ok (visual inspection inside and out)
those logfiles r with dice connected to the vehicle
firmware, vehicle and usb LED's all showing correct status
main symptom is that the dice seems to 'reboot' itself as soon as vida initiates connections to the vehicle
the only time i had success connecting to the vehicle was with the 12v adapter also connected (while also connected to vehicle)
my warranty sticker on the side was already broken when it arrived and the 12v jack cover broke the first timei pulled it out
qualityis definatly low but that is to be expected at the $175price

im contacting the seller for support, now we'll just how good they are to their customers ;)
im still witthin the 5day aliexpress payment approval period

lta
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
I have the very latest DiCE firmware and driver installed on my system, got it from the link I provided. Here is the output when it first connects:

Driver information Firmware:5.6.1-Mar 14 2011 07:51:16 DLLVersion:6.0.3.0 APIVersion:04.04

I did this on my Volvo DiCE tester unit, so I don't have a recent connection to the car, probably try to do that this weekend. Looks to me as though your firmware update didn't take hold, or at least that is an earlier log if you updated to firmware version 5.5.0.

I've never seen a warranty sticker broken, maybe this was a refurb and they forgot the sticker? It shouldn't fail like this. But I will say that iPD had a new OEM DiCE last year, and I helped them diagnose it as bad. When they complained to SPX, they were sent a refurbed unit from SPX stock. You can bet I'd scream about that. But the replacement works. The original wouldn't communicate at all, under any circumstances.

And I've seen better quality than that, but my supplier said that there are cheaper units than I get, and they are afraid to sell any of those to me. Imagine, the Chinese worried about quality!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
120 Posts
Does anyone know if ROM version 5.5.0 of the DiCE is compatible with Vida 2011A? Though this is a separate issue, my DiCE unit won't confirm the communication to car status LED, though all other tests show communication to the laptop and other tests reveal the firmware version.

I've opened the DiCE unit to inspect the plugs which were all inserted fine and had a look at the board which says "TELECA"

Any suggestions very much welcomed
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
I've talked to Lucky, formerly iPD, and he has 2011D, and his 5.5.0 firmware DiCE unit would not communicate with VIDA. As soon as he upgraded to firmware version 5.6.1, his problems went away. I know that either version of DiCE firmware works with VIDA 2010D, but 2011D apparently needs the latest version.

So, answer is maybe for 2011A, but probably NOT for 2011D; get firmware upgraded immediately. I don't want to use 2011A, because it was a buggy program, and local dealer mechanics hated it because it crashed too often. Later versions are more stable.

If you don't have a 2010 or later car, you don't have any advantage to using 2011A or later.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,545 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 · (Edited)
I've talked to Lucky, formerly iPD, and he has 2011D, and his 5.5.0 firmware DiCE unit would not communicate with VIDA. As soon as he upgraded to firmware version 5.6.1, his problems went away. I know that either version of DiCE firmware works with VIDA 2010D, but 2011D apparently needs the latest version.

So, answer is maybe for 2011A, but probably NOT for 2011D; get firmware upgraded immediately. I don't want to use 2011A, because it was a buggy program, and local dealer mechanics hated it because it crashed too often. Later versions are more stable.

If you don't have a 2010 or later car, you don't have any advantage to using 2011A or later.
2010D and 2011A both seem able to talk to my dice but i guess its worth a shot at the latest firmware while i wait to hear back from the aliexpress seller
giving it a try.....

[edit]
Flashed my DiCE with 5.6.1....
Using VIDA 2010D native Win7,32bit,Ult - same problem/symptoms, still cannot connect to vehilce even though the DiCE passes all the Diag tests.
Interesting to note that since flashing it to 5.6.1 the DiCE Diag tool now shows Supply Voltage of 0.00 V (with 5.5.0 is shows proper supply voltage).

Going to try VIDA 2011D next - I doubt it will make any difference...

[edit] No difference with 2011D - still same symptoms/problem, sending back to supplier for warranty replacement.

Pretty sure my DiCE is a dud.

lta
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
127 Posts
Ordered from SHENZHEN FULLTECH on ail express. Shipping was fast and the unit works great. It was $135 shipped. It did come with 2012A
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
I would be very cautious about updating the firmware if you are not running native XP3, I suspect that there are unknown or unacknowledged problems in these virtual machines that mean there are communication problems. You can brick a DiCE unit faster than you can blink if you have a communication problem. I've been able to re-flash a unit for someone because I have an XP machine, but that was a pain for the owner of the box.

My personal take on using any virtual machine except for XP under Win 7 is that there is some communication delay or hiccup in the VM, and that may be causing your problem. The fact that you can get the DiCE to be recognized, and see the VIN tells me that the unit is probably OK, and I suspect the DiCE is not the actual problem. Is there any way you can test this unit on a true Win XP or Win 7 machine? Would have to install VIDA on the machine, but that would tell you what you need to know, whether it is the unit, or the virtual machine. PM me if you have further questions.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
557 Posts
Just my two cents worth…

I ordered the VIDA + DiCE combo from the last vendor mentioned in the OP (Shenzhen OEMScan).

Another positive review.
Yolanda Xiong was extremely helpful, and when the original DiCE unit was experiencing availability delays she offered to ship a DiCE Pro version instead:



I have a T60 ThinkPad that’s been upgraded and running native Win XP SP3.
I loaded VIDA 2011A, and also the latest DiCE firmware update (5.6.1)
Works beautifully.

DTCs cleared, SUM calibration done, and other tweaks.
There’s a lot of great fault tracing and CANbus recording capability as well!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
I ordered this one from Shenzhen OEMScan yesterday but got an email today saying that my order had been "closed for security reasons".

I called my credit card company and they said the card had been successfully charged yesterday, and refunded today.

Has anybody ordered one of these from Shenzhen OEMScan recently?

Based on the success rate people have had with these knock-offs, $135 is about all I'm willing to risk on one.

Any advice is greatly appreciated!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
HEJ

also get a China Dice, dont work on my brandnew win8 Notebook with VMWARE - i can install driver on but i got no connect to VIDA, DICE DIAG also says error.

So i installed my old Notebook with WinXPsp3 - now all works fine, DIAG found the unit, vida can connect.

SO - if i connect the dice and press button for discovery - dice works, leds are blinking - in the car i see flashing ABS/TRACS - but, then no INFO - only error message:
"Not Possible to read out information from the vehicle.
Possible causes: Ignition is off. Vehicle older than 1999. Problems with CT or cables to vehicle. Problems with communication between CT and PC. Faults in the vehicle CAN. Non programmed or faulty ECU"

Is it possible thet these DICE only works with cars >99 ? I got a 850 and v70 - 1997 year !? Any way to make it workin on my old cars ? reading codes or so ?

Thx for help,
greets
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
240 Posts
Vida only works with >99 cars.
DiCE only works with Vida.

Vadis worked with older cars, but only with Volvo System Tester or Multi Tester Pro and serial adapter box as an interface. NOT VCT2000.

In theory it might be possible to create a virtual COM port and DLL file that could imitate the VST using the DiCE, but that would require some serious reverse engineering.
And the DiCE is a J2534 unit, which is probably not capable of supporting some of the old communication protocols.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
Update from me.

I sent Yolanda an email and she said she didn't know why my order was cancelled. It was apparently cancelled by AliExpress. I re-ordered the $135 unit on 12/19 and received it on 12/27. Today I tested it on 2 of my Volvos, and it works great! It took me a little while to figure out how to set things up as there were no printed instructions with the unit, however the AliExpress purchase page included the information I needed. The instructions now also contain a warning not to try to upgrade the firmware, which is good because the first thing Vida told me when I connected it to the Dice was that my firmware was out of date. It's easy to see how you fell into that trap garbertsi. I hope you get a working dice back from Yolanda. She seems honest.

Now to learn Vida... It looks to be a big improvement over Vadis. Information is a lot easier to find and being able to connect to the car with the Dice is awesome!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
773 Posts
You can update the firmware, they probably said not to because of problems people have. VIDA MUST NOT be running when you update the firmware, or you will brick the unit. It can still be rescued, I've done it before, but I'm not sure it will always work.

Make certain VIDA is NOT running, then start the DiCE update program, and update the firmware. Firware is available from Volvo's techinfo web site. latest version is 5.6.1, I recall.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
12 Posts
thanks for the info wiz... That's good to know, although I'll wait to upgrade the firmware in mine until I'm forced to do it.

I already got my money's worth from the unit. I turned off the SRS CEL which was on in a 2000 S70 when I bought it a month ago. The problem turned out to be a minor one. There was a "no signal from passenger SIPS" detected 19 times > 1000 cycles ago. Does anybody know if a cycle refers to an ignition on/off cycle or is it something else, like a timer based poll of the SRS module?
 
1 - 20 of 148 Posts
Top