SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Check Engine Light came on this morning. How do you guys go about determining the fault code? Do you have scanners? Do you just take to the local autozone, advanced auto, etc.? My jeep's is literally on-board. I can play with the ignition and the fault codes are shown on the odometer. Can this not be done on Rs? Below is a link to what I am talking about on my jeep. See the "Retrieving codes" section just a little ways down. Thanks for the help.

http://wjjeeps.com/faultcodes.htm
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,242 Posts
You will need an obd2 code reader. You can pick a cheap one up that will read CEL's for $70. After getting the code let us know what it is.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,313 Posts
I use a ScanGaugeII reader and have it mounted, kinda like what your jeep has stock; gives me codes, ability to clear the ones I want and can read most of all I want it to read.

<a href="http://s173.photobucket.com/albums/w63/keoni212/2004%20S60R/?action=view&current=2012-06-19130541.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i173.photobucket.com/albums/w63/keoni212/2004%20S60R/2012-06-19130541.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket"></a>
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
691 Posts
I bought a handheld scanner also but if I had to redo it I would get the Bluetooth obd2 scanners and hook it up to my cell phone with torque app...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I thought you were making fun of this topic. But they really do exist... Quick search tells me torque app is only on android...is that correct?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,545 Posts
I use "Torque" on my Android phone now, but I previously used "Rev2" on my Apple product. The phone apps are cool if you want convenient access to the data you get via OBD, you just have to get an appropriate adapter to make the Bluetooth (Android) or WiFi (Apple) network for the phone to connect to. The phone apps can display live data from many different parameters: coolant temp, fuel pressure, MAF readings, AFR, EGT, they can data-log, check your 0-60 times, etc. I have fun with mine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,313 Posts
Looks like $160 for the ScannerII and 80 for the below. I'm picking the below up on the way home unless someone swears by the benefits of the ScannerII... Thanks so far.

http://www.oreillyauto.com/site/c/d...d_N0664_-1_925&keyword=obd&pt=N0664&ppt=C0103
Not really comparing apples to apples - I like ScanGaugeII because of the live data feed that I constantly monitor, the fact it can read CEL lights and even hidden CEL (I had a bad clutch position sensor, ODBII reader picked it up but it does not set off a CEL...). The hand held units are great and a lot cheaper if you check your car only when needed. If you check it only when needed, then why waste a lot of money?? Just buy the eBay OBDII reader or the bluetooth one and use it for Torque App (which I have also, works wonders, but I usually only use it to look at other peoples cars, not mine since I have the scangauge).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 · (Edited)
Okay so.... Kind of weird but here they are. P0300, P0304, P0300, P0304, and P0305. Why did I list some twice? Cuz the darn scanner did too! It shows 5 in total and when it runs through them it repeats them in the order that I typed. Life doesn't allow alot of reseach in the next few days so I'm looking for some experts but I will research when I can. Thanks again all. Picked up the $80 one from O'Reileys... prolly could have did craigslist but oh well now.
?
Looks like that means 4 and 5 cylinders. I have only 60k on my 2005 s60r. Research looks like coils or plugs... Should I buy a set of 5 volvo factory plugs from IPD to get started?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,242 Posts
Okay so.... Kind of weird but here they are. P0300, P0304, P0300, P0304, and P0305. Why did I list some twice? Cuz the darn scanner did too! It shows 5 in total and when it runs through them it repeats them in the order that I typed. Life doesn't allow alot of reseach in the next few days so I'm looking for some experts but I will research when I can. Thanks again all. Picked up the $80 one from O'Reileys... prolly could have did craigslist but oh well now.
?
Looks like that means 4 and 5 cylinders. I have only 60k on my 2005 s60r. Research looks like coils or plugs... Should I buy a set of 5 volvo factory plugs from IPD to get started?
You got it. I changed my plugs at 50k as I would get slight hesitations. Being that your car has 60k I would go straight ahead and change the plugs and coils anyways as it is just a regular maintenance item. Stick with stock Volvo plugs from IPD and I would pick up the IPD HD Coil Packs as well.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
Just wanting to confirm the coil packs...I buy 5 from IPD at about 50 bucks a pop right. Why does Viva sell them for close to $1,000? Gonna try to place order tonight if someone can confrim on the coil packs.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,242 Posts
Just wanting to confirm the coil packs...I buy 5 from IPD at about 50 bucks a pop right. Why does Viva sell them for close to $1,000? Gonna try to place order tonight if someone can confrim on the coil packs.
The ones that Viva sells are suppose to be for higher power applications I believe. The IPD ones will work fine.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,313 Posts
Just waiting for them to be shipped now. Will keep you posted.
Are you changing the spark plugs along with the iPd HD Coils? Just one of those "while you're in there" kinda deals, peace of mind so to say.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #15 ·
yeah - guess so... I've heard of many people doing both and i've always questioned the way it runs. Just doesn't seem to have consistent pull, but maybe that is the TCV. Anyways...going on ahead and doing them cuz it seems pretty easy as well.

Why do you ask? Do you think i'm jumping the gun by doing both?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,313 Posts
yeah - guess so... I've heard of many people doing both and i've always questioned the way it runs. Just doesn't seem to have consistent pull, but maybe that is the TCV. Anyways...going on ahead and doing them cuz it seems pretty easy as well.

Why do you ask? Do you think i'm jumping the gun by doing both?
No, but personally when I had a misfire code I just changed all coils to the iPd HD coils and changed the plugs. If that is not your route and you just want to fix the problem, we need to determine the misfire...

If code points to cyl 4 & 5, than I:

1. Would move those coils (mark them) to cyl 1 & 2, see if the problem follows
a. if it does, than coils are bad
b. if code remains than your plugs could be bad (I had a crack in the porcelin that I overlooked twice until I just changed all the plugs and a master volvo tech pointed out the crack when he looked at my old plugs)
c. if no code comes back, do not worry, when I originally did my swap it took 3 months before I saw the code again, then I ordered all new HD coils and plugs from iPd.

2. But if code remains on same cyl even after spark plug change, than get a compression test to rule out cyl damage or worse.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
785 Posts
I have an OBD II scanner I bought from Autozone at least 2.5 years ago ( I need to check the brand) that I paid @100-110 dollars IIRC, originally for my 1998 C70. I pulled codes for a check engine light for my S60R recently and it read out P0128 (stored 2X) and gave the human translation , "coolant temperature below thermostat regulating temperature". It then allowed me to clear the codes.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·
Tuscani,
Day late and $336 short. :). I like your idea but I guess I will just put in the new equipment when it gets here and see what happens. But thanks for the good advice.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,313 Posts
Anytime brother, but if its in your budget, what you're doing is not a bad idea - its what most of us would have done so its only natural to offer the same advice.

Hope it works, keep us posted.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #20 ·
Just an update. Had no idea I have to be so careful.

Received parts
Going to buy a gapper tomorrow to ensure .0028
As well as anti seize grease
Gonna blow out with compressed air
Gonna try to get them turned right way
Think I can use my spark plug wrench for my dirt bike or try my nice socket set.
Guess I need torque wrench?

Have a big torque wrench I used for axle bolts but it isn't very precise I don't think so may need smaller one for this job. I believe spec is 22 but maybe slightly less since using grease. I'm referencing the below link

http://forums.swedespeed.com/showthread.php?159939
 
1 - 20 of 37 Posts
Top