SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
dalecarlian’s ‘01 V70XC build thread

Hello,

Thought I’d start a build thread for any ensuing work to be done this summer as I’ve enjoyed reading through everyone else’s quite a bit.

Here is a bit of information about me. I am a grad student in Richmond, Virginia. I drive delivery on the side, thus I make very little money but get to spend all the time I could ever want in my wagon. I am NOT an experienced auto mechanic but primarily have tinkered with electronics, two-stroke tuning, and bicycles (I ride road).

The car was my mother’s, purchased certified refurbished in 2007 and handed to me in 2014 after her ‘13 XC70 purchase (sadly an anemic base model 3.2). It is the only car I have ever owned, and I drove it across the States and Canada in 2015 after leaving high school. Maintenance has not been superb however everything runs quite well, and it has no damning issues. I have been a bit afraid to work on it but taking apart lots of other engineered things has given me the nuts to start taking some charge so to speak.

Before you lament my ‘01, the transmission was replaced with that of an ‘03 at 100k miles in 2010. I am currently at 167k.

Recently it has had:
-PCV rebuild
-timing belt
-new oil pan
-some cheapo LED headlights

I should be set, right? Well no, it actually failed inspection due to front rotors. When you drive every day, sometimes you don’t notice your brakes getting softer until you fail inspection. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯ An excellent first repair goal.

So far my plans are:
-replace front rotors with StopTech Sport 305mm [5/10/20]
-tie rods [5/14/20]
-VIDA setup [5/14/20]
-IPD front end links [5/24/20]
-coolant thermostat [5/16/20]
-new power steering reservoir [5/15/2020]
-engine mounts [corona]
-axles [corona]
-IPD skid plate
-Sachs front struts, XC90 spring seats [Fall 2020]
-Xemodex ETM [Fall 2020]
-new brake calipers/hoses [corona]