SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey all, new to the forum, and relatively new to Volvo, this being my first. Bought my 2012 S60 T5 FWD two years ago and have been relatively satisfied--has 92k on the clock as of now. I have been a DIY mechanic for many years now and have done a handful of relatively complex jobs (mostly on Fords). So far I have only had to do a few oil changes and replace all rotors/pads (imagine my surprise when I saw they still use FoMoCo brake components despite dissolving their partnership several years prior). Just wanted to give you a quick background on where I'm at..

About 500-750 or so miles ago, I noticed some oil on the ground behind the passenger front tire. I had recently done an oil change and recalled being a little sloppy with the filter, so I figured some oil run off was finally making its way to the ground. The dripping continued and a few weeks later, I checked the oil level and found it to be drastically low, esp since I had just done an oil change. I removed the front top cover to expose the cam gears and some pulleys, had someone rev the engine, and I clearly saw oil spraying upwards. Yesterday, I pulled off the entire front cover and noticed that the oil seemed to be mostly built up at the bottom near the crank. After some digging, I found that my most likely culprit is the crankshaft seal and/or oil pump seal.