SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all hope your day is going great, so I went to replace the control arms on my 05 VR. The drivers side went totally fine no issues, but when it came to the passenger side I was confronted with 3 tubes/pipes that are covering the bolts that hold the front part of the control arm on, I can move the rubber ones out of the way but the 3rd is a solid metal pipe that doesn't want to budge at all.
So my question,
How the heck do ya get the bolts off?? I'm an amateur for sure but I know what I'm doing. But for the life of me I can't figure out how to move the metal pipe. Any help would be appreciated!!

Also the grease is from a busted cv joint that has since been replaced

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,083 Posts
The metal pipe is clipped in, pull it out of the clip and you should be able to move it out of the way enough to get to the bolt. You probably won't have room to get a socket on there so you may have to use the sketchy double wrench method to loosen that puppy. If this is the first time cracking that bolt, start spraying it with penetrating oil NOW. If you are going to replace the bolt, you need to jack up the engine to be able to get it out. If not, don't worry about it.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The metal pipe is clipped in, pull it out of the clip and you should be able to move it out of the way enough to get to the bolt. You probably won't have room to get a socket on there so you may have to use the sketchy double wrench method to loosen that puppy. If this is the first time cracking that bolt, start spraying it with penetrating oil NOW. If you are going to replace the bolt, you need to jack up the engine to be able to get it out. If not, don't worry about it.