SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

Collision averted in my new V60cc

3K views 20 replies 15 participants last post by  Hounddogger 
#1 ·
OK….this is not how you start a morning.

I'm merging on the highway, from a dead stop, when the unthinkable almost happened.
Now, I've been driving this commute for almost 7 years and I've seen at least 5 rear end collisions
at this merge point each month. So….I'm watching traffic, patiently waiting for my chance,….I see my spot and
then I gun it! I never saw the Subaru in front of me and the last thing I heard was the roar of the engine followed by
a screeching hault. The Intellisafe/City safe sensor jams on the brakes and I came with (must have been…) inches of the
bumper. We pulled aside and I was amazed I did not hit her. We looked at both bumpers….not even a scratch.
A nervous laugh and we're both on our way.

So I'm driving to work with the "white knuckle" syndrome and as soon as I get in…I read up on Intellisafe, call my dealer and tell him the story….
drink lots of coffee, and heart has not stopped racing since.

All I can say is that my Honda Pilot would have made me a very very very sad person this morning.

Thank you Volvo for making the safest car in the world!!!

See less See more
#3 ·
Sweet.

I had my City Safety kick in yesterday and thought that I had broken something.

I sometimes try to enter the garage prematurely and must have been driving a bit faster toward the garage than normal...with my hand on my gear lever and slowly applying the Brake.

BAM! BraKes lock up and the force pushes my body and hand forward which was on the gear shift so now I'm in neutral.

It stunned me because I had thought I had somehow misapplied the brakes.

So I drop it back in gear and pull into the garage and notice the display saying "stopped by City Safety".

I had thought that City Safety would not stop the vehicle if you were using the brakes but I guess I misunderstood how it works.

#4 ·