SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 232 Posts

· Registered
381 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Everyone, I'd like to formally introduce myself to this forum. As the title implies, I’m a college student who picked up a 2006 V70R around the end of July. I had been in the market for a new car and had looked at a couple of C30s including a really nice manual R-Design but hadn’t specifically considered an R before as they were hard to find and could be expensive to maintain. I was browsing Craigslist one morning and saw this car popup about 2 hours away from me. It piqued my interest because it was an R and seemed pretty clean from the photos and a decent deal for the price he was asking. I knew this car would sell fast so I made the 2-hour drive up there with my dad the same day to check it out. We had a vague idea of some of the larger problems that can plague these cars and after checking it out determined that for 167,000 miles, the car seemed to be in really good shape. Another benefit we noticed was according to the CarFax the transmission had been replaced by the dealer at around 100,000 miles so it was reassuring to know that one of the larger problem areas was likely to be in sound condition.

After a bit of negotiating, I bought the car for $5500. Drove it back down to where I live through LA traffic and had pretty much no problems. One of the only large outstanding problems the car came with was the dreaded “Chassis Setting Service Required” error. Because of this, my headlights were pointed almost directly to the ground which made the last 30 minutes or so of nighttime driving somewhat precarious.

I was really happy with the deal I got and thought I made out pretty well. I absolutely love the look of these cars and never really imagined myself owning one at this stage so I was pretty happy.