SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm planning to upgrade my 2007 S60R 6-speed MT to 400-450 hp. The transmission has been leaking, so I need to replace the transmission seals and clutch.

Does anyone have any experience with clutches for higher hp? I'm not sure which clutch kit/flywheel combo to go with.

I'm considering SPEC clutch kits and an aluminum flywheel from viva performance.

Since I have no prior experience in performance building, I definitely could use your suggestions.

·
Registered
1,674 Posts
SPEC Clutches and Viva flywheel is one of the only solutions in the States. Havnt heard anyone complaining about them on these boards so far.

Are you looking to rebuild your engine to achieve your desired hp? Bolt ons will only get you to about 400hp...

·
Registered
1,242 Posts
SPEC Clutches and Viva flywheel is one of the only solutions in the States. Havnt heard anyone complaining about them on these boards so far.
:thumbup:

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

Are you looking to rebuild your engine to achieve your desired hp? Bolt ons will only get you to about 400hp...
I plan to upgrade the turbo, downpipe, catback, intercooler, and do an ecm upgrade, eventually I may rebuild...

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Does anyone know if Viva Performance's aluminum flywheel will work with any of the SPEC clutch kits other than the 3+? (i.e. the 2, 2+ or 3). The description on the item only mentions volvo OE clutch kits or the Stage 3+.

The only reason I'm asking here is that I can never get a response from Viva Performance, either when I call or email them.
Any info you have would be much appreciated. Thanks.

·
Banned
27 Posts
The reason we suggest the 3+ is because its built to handle the power of the R better than the 2 and 3 stage clutches.

Our SMF and SPEC stage 3+ is the best package for the money.