SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so some of you may have heard of this issue were if the gas cap isnt on tight enough the check engine light comes on. Well I have been driving this car for 3 years now and filling the gas tank through all of it. I have been driving enough years and with enough cars to know how to tighten a gas cap. All of a sudden my check engine light comes on and the dealership tells me to try tightening the gas cap. I do what they say, remove it and put it back on, and sure enough in two days it goes off. Then it goes on again, I didnt even touch the gas cap, it goes on. So I try again, retighten in the same fashion, I make sure it clicks, doesnt seem that hard, and in two days the light goes off. It came on again and turned off in two days, I did fill up in that interum, but I am screwing the gas cap on plenty tight. Whats going on here. I took it to the dealership, but the light was off by the time I got there, so they couldnt check the code, and they checked the rubber seal and said it was fine. Whats the problem, why is this happening, why does it happen at all. I dont get it, it seems really silly.

·
Registered
4,395 Posts
Re: Check Engine light problem (pj's 850)

(a little off topic)<br>Did you get your new head-unit installed and working good? Got any pictures of it?

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Re: Check Engine light problem (Kaizai)