SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,279 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I cracked the tip of 3 of the 5 injectors when I removed the rail for PCV servicing. I’m inclined to put them back in and see if I experience any issues...thoughts?

Man that rail was in there right. I really should have left it well alone!!!

https://youtu.be/PwWsxIcHz7c

2002 V70XC, 2003 V40, 2004 S60, 2010 V70

·
Registered
29 Posts
I am not an expert working on the fuel system but here is my recent experience.

I also had problems with this when I overhauled my injectors two weekends ago. Fuel rail was hard to remove and then I saw that one o-ring was still in the manifold. I got the o-ring out but then only half of the washer.

Your injectors themselves are fine. It is the injector manifold o-ring washer that is cracked. We have 'washers' on our injectors where some have 'pintle caps'. As there is no projecting pintle out of the end of the injector, there is no need for a cap, but the washer is there to help insure the o-ring stays in place on the injector, and comes out when the injector is removed.

My concern is that your first washer (near the timing belt) has other cracks in addition to the split. Almost certainly it will break into pieces and some of the pieces will fall into the manifold - like mine did. I suspect that it falls into the front of the manifold and stays there. It may burn up, but will probably do less harm if it moves further into the engine than the horrible PCV banjo bolt metal ball bearing.

Perhaps you can omit the washer - this may be a very bad idea. There is a chance the o-ring could then move due to pressure changes in the manifold, and this risks the o-ring failing and then leakage of gas with the possibility of an engine fire. So this must be addressed promptly. Ebay has kits with o-rings and washers. I got a kit like the one below:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/FUEL-INJEC...:Volvo&hash=item28210f5f67:g:bp4AAOSwHEhaAdUx