SwedeSpeed - Volvo Performance Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
2009 XC90 V8 || 2008 C30 V1
364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Just picked up a new project car and I’d like to document ideas and progress here rather than in the C30 sub forum, since it’s really the T5 engine itself that will be the project. Hopefully I can gather ideas and advice from members across the board since the engine is cross-platform.

It’s a 2008 C30 T5 with an automatic transmission and over 250,000 miles! I was on a major time crunch to get this back home today, so I didn’t have a ton of time with it. As of right now, I know the engine "runs but has low compression in 2 of the 5 cylinders." I will pull the codes and get VIDA hooked up when I get a chance. The previous owner put a ton of money into the car over the years, and it’s in great shape. I am a self-taught automotive repair padawan, and I have done a lot in my years, but actual in-depth engine work will be a first for me. After I get a better idea of what’s actually needed, I will gather some opinions on which path to take, whether it’s repair, replace, or something new and wild (T5M AWD?!) My preference is OEM. We’ll see how it goes!

·
Registered
364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)
Pulled the codes with a quick scanner, still haven’t hooked up VIDA yet. We have:

P0027 exhaust valve control solenoid circuit range / performance bank 1

P0301 cylinder 1 misfire

P0302 cylinder 2 misfire

edit: hooked up VIDA:

·
Registered
364 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Attempted the quick fix on the cylinder 1 & 2 misfire - spark plugs. Put Bosch plugs in cylinders 1 and 2, torqued to 22 ft lbs, cleared codes, started engine - same two codes. Rough idle (obviously).

Need some advice on next steps. Compression test?

·
Premium Member
2,044 Posts