Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to swedespeed
I am also new to Volvo
I purchased S40 T5 AWD 6 speed this weekend
It is my first Volvo.
I plan on building it into a track car for the 24 hours of lemons
The car got T-boned and will not ever be fit for the street. (wheels are straight )
I was wondering if anyone has built a track car and what upgrades they did (endurance race mostly interested in cooling)
Has anyone ever taking their car on the track? If so how is it?
Also the car has 160,000 on it seems to run great .. what problems do these cars have at such high mileage?

Also full interior and any parts that do not effect the drivability of the car are for sale

Thanks
Tom

·
Registered
1,447 Posts
Man, this is great news. Where are you located?

For endurance you will need to look at brakes. The intercooler sucks and will probably soak. There are a few low $ options for cheap race parts that are starting to pop up including suspension parts.

Best of luck!

Subscribed

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Located: Long Island, New York
What do your recomend for the brakes? Intercooler?
Suspention?

I was planing on running brake cooling vents and upgrading the pads (havnt looked into pads yet)

Also i was planning on a big oil cooler (ebay special)

Ive never owned or been in a volvo so any recommendations will be greatly appreciated
Thanks
Tom

·
Registered
1,447 Posts
Cheap parts
intercooler $90 ebay plus coulplers $30
Rotors ebay <$300
Depending on how close you are to the $ limit, bump stops and struts.
Tires! Really good tires!

You should be pretty close to the lemons limit there.
Maybe a test pipe in place of the cat too.

·
Registered
4,372 Posts
Hopefully you have the 320 mm front rotors already. If you don't you'll need to get them.
Quad is correct, make that intercooler efficient as you can.
Do something with the large rear bushing on the front control arms. Poly or Delrin.
What's the $$ limit these days?